Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by cookie
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great, easy recipe. I only baked them for about 2 hours and the center turned out soft and fluffy (just the way I like them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Love these! :) I added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and could have added more for additional flavor. I also used the recommendation made by Caron for gas stoves to change temp to 185 and leave the oven door closed. Leaving it open just for the first 5 minutes made the house smell like gas. But the meringues turned out crisp and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaQ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These are incredible! Exactly what I was looking for. I left my oven closed on 185, as I have gas and didn't feel comfortable propping it open. They came out perfect! Everyone loved them. They'd make great ghosts for halloween with maybe dabs of chocolate for the eyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Photo by emharm
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
So easy, reviewers are spot-on in advice as well. I increased the sugar to 2 1/2c as I added a teaspoon of almond extract. Perfectly subtle almond essence, and paired with amaretto chocolate chip gelato. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
i thot that this was a great recipe although i did cook it a little differently and added lemon zest and lemon juice they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Perfection. Only took two hours. Used parchment paper on top of inverted baking pans (cookie sheets lent to a friend!) They are light and sweet. No need for any additional vanilla or almond as some suggested. Only problem is, I was supposed to bring them to a BBQ tomorrow - and now I have to make more in the morning because they are slowly disappearing!!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
These are some of the best meringues I have ever had! They're light, fluffy, and chewy. :) If anything tho, I'd cut down on the sugar a little since mine also oozed brown sugar syrup, making them hard to remove. Parchment paper will do the trick though, I'll just have to keep that in mind next time. I also added some vanilla extract and to another batch some lemon zest. They were just too good, crispy on the outside, marshmallowy and fluffy on the inside, and they just melt.in.your.mouth. Bringing the egg whites to room temp. will help speed up the whipping process. Try it, they're well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Followed recipe however, the baking time was cut by a half hour and they turned out lovely. I added sprinkle/jimmies to some, very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very, very yummy. They taste just like the storebought gourmet ones. The only problem I had with it is that it took a longgg time to beat, and also that when I finally took them out of the oven, some of them had cracked and had this funny bubbly texture, although the places where it was like that tasted just the same. Anyway -- this is my go to recipe for hard meringues :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States