Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I don't know what happened but mine are cracked and look like there is root beer float foam all around them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Fantastic recipe added a bit of vanilla and meringues came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
These were more of a candy. Extremely sweet and more like eating a hard candy. Great for decoration but would not recommend "serving" them. I got nothing but negative when served
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by minichef11
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
they tasted really good, but I only cooked them for an hour and half, and they were still flat and crunchy:( I dipped half of each one in chocolate, and added food coloring to some to mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minichef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe is perfect. No changes needed but parchment paper makes the baking easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These are the best ever meringues,I zested one lemon and added it to the eggs whites before beating everything and they were the greatest I've ever had. Everyone raved them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These are great!!!! I love meringues and these are so much better than store-bought, no cream of tartar after-taste. I had a little trouble with the temperature of the oven, keeping the door ajar with a gas stove isn't really an option. I put the oven at about 175 and kept the door closed. There was some minor cracking but it was only cosmetic. The taste is fantastic, melt in your mouth with a little chewiness in the center. Use parchment paper for no cleanup and they peel right off. Also let the egg whites come to room temperature before beating and you shouldn't have any problem. I've made these twice now and I make them a little bigger and get about 15 meringues from this recipe and they don't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very good, but would have been better with some type of flavoring - cocoa powder or almond extract or something. I will make these again the next time I have a recipe that just calls for the yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I'm not sure what went wrong. I followed the recipe to a t! Never got stiff, piped out round. I even tried adding more sugar to no avail. No pretty stars. Maybe they will be sutible for macroons, when they finish I hope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States