Authentic French Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a great recipe super easy. I piped the meringues out in the shape of a ghost and added eyes and a nose with frosting. Too cute for a holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I closed my oven door and only cooked them for 2 hours and they turned out great. Next time I will try them with mint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I've made better....these were too hard and didn't have the same soft melt in your mouth taste as other's I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Tips for those who are having problems with these falling flat: meringues are very delicate and almost anything can go wrong with them. It is possible that you are either under-whipping them, or whipping them too much. If you over-whip something, you can make it fall flat by whipping the air back out of it. Conversely, if you don't have enough air it won't stay tall. A few tips on meringues: *If you have ANY egg yolk, throw it out and start over. It will ruin the structure of the meringue. *Before you add the sugar it's better to be safe than sorry; make sure that your meringue is stiff at the very least, and I prefer to whip mine just before there are stiff peaks forming. (To test this, take a utensil and stick it in the mixture, then draw it out forming a little peak or tail; if it sticks up, it is a stiff peak, if it droops over you may want to consider whipping it more.) *You can also tell how stiff the mixture is by whether the mixture fills itself back out if you part it in the middle. Your mixture should separate and stay separate. *You do not want to have glossy peaks before you add the sugar. You have a greater potential to ruin it if you get to the shiny/satin stage before you add anything. *Oils will ruin the mixture, so be careful if adding flavorants or colors. *Add the sugar VERY slowly. So slowly it hurts. Never dump anything you add, including flavors. *Lift the tip of the pastry bag up and away when piping, don't smash it down in! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
HELP!? I tried to make these 3 times in a row and each time they were more like icing and not "puffy." They look more like little pancakes on the baking sheet. Am I not beating enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidipetcher

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These turned out quite well. It was the first time I had made these so I wish there had been more instruction on how big to make them, though. Some of mine cracked, but I think I did not whip them long enough before piping. I think that must have been what i did wrong, because I used a swirl tip and they came out smooth. Those little guys are addictive, though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Came out ok. Needs flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwcookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canastota, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These are fantastic. But to make them out of this world I add some mini chocolate chips. The best of both worlds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
These were GREAT! I loved them, they were so easy to make and still tasted amazing. I did make a few changes though. I absolutly love chocolate so i added cocoa to taste. I also only cooked them for an hour and a half. This made them more chewy in the middle but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Great recipe. A keeper. Use parchment paper on your baking sheets. Steer clear of any butter or shortening because fats will break down the egg whites. Completely fat free bowls & pans, and beating the egg whites thoroughly before adding the sugar GRADUALLY will solve the problem of "sinking" or "melting" cookies. I'm going to make another bath, trying the suggestion someone made of using Jello mix. Plan to put that in my measuring cup first, then add sugar until I get a total of 2 1/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States