Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Very nice, although I add chopped onions and cotija cheese to the shredded chicken. Also, I like to add a dollop of sour cream to top off the enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very very good! I have never made verde sauce but always loved having it in mexican restaurants. This was very good though not quite as flavorful and a bit thin. I will add less chicken broth to the cooked tomatillos (to the top of the veggies not an inch over) prior to blending next time and see if it doesn't make a thicker sauce. I did simmer it quite a long time trying to get it less watery. I also removed the seeds from the chilis prior to cooking as they are very hot. (This may be the reason why it was not as flavorful.) Be sure to wear plastic gloves to do this as the seeds burn the hands. Lots of work but I will definitely make this again. My husband was impressed and we both want to serve this for company. We especially like that it is more like authentic mexican than most of the mexican recipes we have used. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This is the first time that I made my own enchilada sauce and everyone loved it! It was a little bit hotter than I was expecting, which my husband and father in law loved, otherwise, be sure to put some sour cream on it! It was very flavorfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Philomath, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This is going in the Family Favorites folder, to be made again and again. I can see it being handed down the generations, starting with me, to my daughter, to her children, and so on. The only things I did different: because some folks had said the serranos made the verde sauce too hot for their taste, I put all the cooked tomatillos in food processor and blended, and then blended in the cooked serranos one by one until the heat was to our liking; the other change, because I'm pregnant and not supposed to eat queso fresco: after I rolled all the enchiladas in a 9X13, I poured the sauce over and sprinkled colby-jack on top and then popped the whole thing in the microwave for just a couple of minutes. So good, so easy! Also, I used the left over broth from making the chicken to make a really easy and decilicious homemade soup, using a little of the boiled chicken, some chopped carrots and parsley, and orzo. Only a couple of servings worth, but muy delicioso, as were the enchiladas...gracias!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This recipe was awesome! Coming from a 1st generation immigrant family who always makes red sauce and never green, this was a crowd pleaser. I added a tblsp of Knorr (chicken bouillon)instead of the salt. It thickened and seasoned the salt. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was very good. The tortilla's dipped in the verde sauce was a bit messy, but they did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was good enough to make again. Mine turned out too salty - I think the broth is salty enough on it's own. Next time I make them, I'll roll them up and bake like the enchiladas I'm used to and add cottage cheese with the sauce over the top. The sauce is a little hotter than medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I tryed this recipe tonight for dinner.The only thing I didn't use was the hot peppers,I don't like hot peppers very much.Instead I used a can of green chilies,and lots of garlic,the taste was wonderful. It's the first time I've made chicken enchiladas and they turned out really good.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
These were so good! The sauce was excellent: nice and spicy! They are a bit of work, but if you have help in the kitchen (chopping, etc.), you can cut down the time it takes to make them to about an hour. They're worth it! I had some leftover sauce and am looking forward to using as a dip for chips or on other Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
These were different from the recipes I am used to where you "assemble" everything then bake, but they turned out really good. A nice change from the usual ones I make. The sauce turned out really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States