Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I loved this authentic-style recipe! I did follow the suggestions of Rosa Marina. The salsa turned out great - admittedly when I tried it after boiling it it seemed too spicy, but served with tortillas and fresh tomatoes, cilantro, and cheese was perfect! My husband loved it! I will definitely make this again. Frying the tortillas somehow creates a wonderful flavor with the salsa and chicken. I will admit, I did not have any corn tortillas or queso fresco (which I usually buy at Walmart), and so I filled my fried flour tortillas with the chicken and some cilantro, rolled them up and placed them in a 9x13 pan. Then I poured salsa all over the top and shredded cheese over that and baked at 400 for about 10 minutes, then broiled at 425 for maybe 10 more. I love corn tortillas and believe the recipe could be even better as written. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariél Weishaar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A fantastic recipe! It was easy, and everyone ate until it hurt. I took a few shortcuts like using a rotisserie chicken and mild Jalapeno peppers that I had on hand. I also used fresh tortillas from the refrigerated deli case which stayed very moist during pan-frying and didn't need to be boiled in the sauce to soften. Amazing, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
we love these! i have made them many times. i don't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
SOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was amazing!!! I made it with fresh tomatillos & onion & garlic & cilantro out of my garden and it was great!! Next time I will add a sour cream/cream of chicken to my chicken mixture just because I like it that way but as is, it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Husband loved this recipe! We actually made it together and it was a lot of fun. I don't usually like spicy Mexican food but this made me think twice about trying something new. Delicious! So spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
These enchiladas were pretty good, but I felt like the sauce lacked in the flavor department. Honestly I'm not sure it was any better than the Old El Paso canned sauce. I may try an alteration to this recipe next time to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Simply the BEST! My husband loved them! I took the advice of the first reviewer...on the salt substitutions and size of tomatillos. I am afraid to order these @restaurants because sometimes they are too bitter....these were not bitter! They were delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Absolutely the best Enchiladas Verdes I have ever eaten. I love them even more than those had at my favorite restaurant. I made the dish exactly as is, with the exception that I left out the cilantro. I did not feel the extra strong flavor of the herb would be needed, and I believe that was correct in my case. The chicken was wonderfully moist and seasoned just right, and the fresh tomatillo salsa is to die for. I would advice being very conservative when adding the chicken broth to the blender when making the salsa. Start with a little and add more to get the proper amount of liquidity. Too runny is no good. I served them with a dollop of sour cream on the side. These enchiladas are some work to prepare, but well worth it. Easily a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I wish I could give this more stars! This was incredible. I've never really liked enchiladas, but I'm used to having them with red chile. These.... These may be the greatest enchiladas ever!! I read other reviews and became afraid of the serranos and only added two. I wish I would have used more. Otherwise, I made them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States