Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Husband loved this recipe! We actually made it together and it was a lot of fun. I don't usually like spicy Mexican food but this made me think twice about trying something new. Delicious! So spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
These enchiladas were pretty good, but I felt like the sauce lacked in the flavor department. Honestly I'm not sure it was any better than the Old El Paso canned sauce. I may try an alteration to this recipe next time to improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Simply the BEST! My husband loved them! I took the advice of the first reviewer...on the salt substitutions and size of tomatillos. I am afraid to order these @restaurants because sometimes they are too bitter....these were not bitter! They were delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Absolutely the best Enchiladas Verdes I have ever eaten. I love them even more than those had at my favorite restaurant. I made the dish exactly as is, with the exception that I left out the cilantro. I did not feel the extra strong flavor of the herb would be needed, and I believe that was correct in my case. The chicken was wonderfully moist and seasoned just right, and the fresh tomatillo salsa is to die for. I would advice being very conservative when adding the chicken broth to the blender when making the salsa. Start with a little and add more to get the proper amount of liquidity. Too runny is no good. I served them with a dollop of sour cream on the side. These enchiladas are some work to prepare, but well worth it. Easily a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I wish I could give this more stars! This was incredible. I've never really liked enchiladas, but I'm used to having them with red chile. These.... These may be the greatest enchiladas ever!! I read other reviews and became afraid of the serranos and only added two. I wish I would have used more. Otherwise, I made them as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is the first time I have cooked/prepared food with tomatillas. This recipe was fun. I had to improvise. I didn't have any Serrano peppers so I seasoned with my habenero sauce (Bob's Fire Sauce from this site) and red pepper chili flakes. My only regret is I didn't have enough of the sauce. I will definitely make this again... definitely. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious and authentic. I am a young Mexican cook and I needed a little help from an online recipe for my first attempt at enchiladas. This is as authentic as you can get. I like my enchiladas a little wet, so I doubled up on the salsa recipe, but cut down on the spice (I have a sensitive stomach). I used 3 peppers for 2 pounds of tomatillos (double the amount), and it gave it a nice little non-burning kick! If you enjoy that burning sensation, then I'd suggest you add a little more. (I think 5 peppers/1 pounds of tomatillos would be extreme though!) On top I added julienne iceberg lettuce, watery sour cream (watered down with milk, not actual water), sliced radishes, and cilantro. Don't forget about the rice and beans! I served this to a group of hungry college buddies, and the guys would not stop showering me with compliments. They are convinced on marrying a Mexican woman because of this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are AMAZING!!!! If I use chicken bouillon, I leave out the salt, otherwise I do everything the same. Every person we have served these to has asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Market, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Super yummy! And not nearly as hard to make as it read!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States