Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
WoW! These were good! I make enchiladas all the time, but this was my fav recipe. I did my chicken in the crock pot for 4 hours which i believe adds flavor. Grilled my tortillas for a minute per side to leave out any added fat. Loved the verde sauce. Couldn't find cilantro and didn't really need it. Baked at 350 for 15 minutes, dolloped with sour cream and they were great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
double recipe to feed family, super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Less salt, but otherwise brilliant. I didn't find it necessary to double the sauce. We had just what we needed for 16 enchiladas. Also, I went ahead and used two halved chicken breasts (4 halves total) and only had a bit extra meat. It really just depends on the size of the breasts, so eye it up before you cook. This was my first time making enchiladas this way, and there is no going back. Who wants a soupy mess from the oven when you can have wonderful, fresh ingredients prepared from scratch exactly to your liking? One question: how to keep the early batches warm while you're making the rest? By the time we sat down to eat, they were already pretty cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
OH MY GOODNESS ... the best thing since brownies! Would recommend it to anyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I am always extremely skeptical when I see the term "authentic" applied to any mexican dish. This recipe isn't claiming to be something it's not. It is the real deal. Thank you so much for sharing!!!!! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was super delicious, but dipping the tortillas in the sauce was weird. Kids did not like the sticky wetness when trying to eat their enchiladas. Best salsa verde I've made so far though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkunze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
These enchiladas had some heat, but it was just right for people who love heat. I grilled the chicken with a chipotle seasoning and then shredded it. Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I doubled the sauce and used cotija cheese - the queso fresco I was buying at first was not the correct type. Since our market is Hispanic and not just Mexican foods, there were different things called queso fresco but the owner suggested cotija and he was right! Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! The only thing I did different was I lightly tossed the shredded chicken with Wishbone Southwest Chipotle Dressing just enough to lightly coat. I also doubled the sauce recipe because everyone wanted more! I tried this because of the review by Rosa Marina; she said it was authentic and it is. It was also easy. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This recipe is awesome. Exactly what I remember from my days spent in Mexico and like nothing I've been able to find in a restaurant here. Very authentic. Made the tomatillo sauce exactly as written. My only change to the rest was that I shredded a rotisserie chicken instead of boiling chicken, and added the bones from the rotisserie to flavor the broth mixture. Sooooooo good. My hubby and I can't stop talking about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States