Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this last night and,oh my word, it was amazing! It was extremely easy and turned out perfect. I have two small children so I only used 2 serrano peppers. I never cooked with them before so I wasn't sure of the heat. I'm glad I did because my two year old says, Ooooh Spicey! but she still ate it. I would have liked 3, so I just added some Chulula hot sauce to mine. I also added some some sauce to the chicken before rolling up, and baked it in the oven for 20 minutes so the cheese was bubbly. I posted a picture online and now have dinner requests. You must make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was great! My husband loved it and the heat was perfect for him, but a little too much for me. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Can you make ahead of time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe. It was a bit time consuming but well worth it. The only change we made was decreasing the serrano peppers to 2 and adding 1 green pepper. We had a little extra sauce leftover to freeze. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was surprised it was so tasty! I normally won't fry anything in oil (to save calories), but there is a Youtube video of someone making nearly the same dish, which made it seem more "authentic". (And I tried the cooking spray/oven route and that sucked.) Beautiful presentation. Might as well make extra sauce, and if you don't use it, freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Fabuloso! Tangy hot salsa, really tender chicken- and you can buy queso fresco at walmart, which is awesome. I recommend doubling salsa- I have made this at least ten times and it is always a hit. People want the salsa for chips, and I usually have barely enough for the enchiladas. Recommend removing seeds from the serranos if your friends or family doesn't love spicy foods :) - delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Wow...so delicious! I found it easier to spoon and swirl the verde onto the fried tortilla, but otherwise I followed everything to a T. The raw onions, cilantro and queso fresco are a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
WoW! These were good! I make enchiladas all the time, but this was my fav recipe. I did my chicken in the crock pot for 4 hours which i believe adds flavor. Grilled my tortillas for a minute per side to leave out any added fat. Loved the verde sauce. Couldn't find cilantro and didn't really need it. Baked at 350 for 15 minutes, dolloped with sour cream and they were great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
double recipe to feed family, super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Less salt, but otherwise brilliant. I didn't find it necessary to double the sauce. We had just what we needed for 16 enchiladas. Also, I went ahead and used two halved chicken breasts (4 halves total) and only had a bit extra meat. It really just depends on the size of the breasts, so eye it up before you cook. This was my first time making enchiladas this way, and there is no going back. Who wants a soupy mess from the oven when you can have wonderful, fresh ingredients prepared from scratch exactly to your liking? One question: how to keep the early batches warm while you're making the rest? By the time we sat down to eat, they were already pretty cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States