Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I have been following this recipe exactly as written for years and it is a family favorite. My husband asks for it on his birthday and Father's Day. Whenever I make it for other people, they always ask for the recipe. 5 serrano peppers give the perfect spice. Not too hot, not too mild. When we do make a change to the recipe, it is to use flour tortillas instead of corn. Once, as a change, I decided to try these baked in a 13x9 dish. They were ok, but nothing in comparison to following the recipe as written. I do not recommend baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by j9inLACA
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Made this tonight after wanting a more authentic recipe for my leftover roast chicken. The authenticity of the prep and ingredients attracted me. I doubled the sauce with 6 serranos and will enjoy freezing the leftovers for future use. This made a pretty spicy sauce. Next time I will probably double the sauce and use 3 serranos. As a previous reviewer stated, if you have the choice, go with the tiny tomatillos for the best flavor. I didn't strain the sauce as another recommended as I was preparing this for a weeknight meal and time was of the essence . My regular ole eating blender made quick work of purifying the sauce to an acceptable consistency. I omitted the salt because I used prepared chicken stock and cities cheese .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Poxa90
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was absolutely delicious! I found the chicken to be a bit too salty, though. Next time, I would reduce/eliminate the added 2 tsp. of salt in step #1. 5 stars, without a doubt though! This might have been the best meal that I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
100% authentic taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made this several times for my family and they love it thanks for posting. Only thing I changed I put it in the over then put sauce on top after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The salsa verde is amazing. For an easy cheat on the chicken, I used the breast meat from a readymade garlic-lime rotisserie chicken and some low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
These were fantastic. Best homemade enchiladas I have ever had the pleasure of eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The green salsa was good but the chicken itself was bland I will make the salsa and make changes to the chicken like adding cumin and a maybe some cooked peppers and onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy ley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
What a fantastic recipe...very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States