Authentic Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was surprised it was so tasty! I normally won't fry anything in oil (to save calories), but there is a Youtube video of someone making nearly the same dish, which made it seem more "authentic". (And I tried the cooking spray/oven route and that sucked.) Beautiful presentation. Might as well make extra sauce, and if you don't use it, freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Fabuloso! Tangy hot salsa, really tender chicken- and you can buy queso fresco at walmart, which is awesome. I recommend doubling salsa- I have made this at least ten times and it is always a hit. People want the salsa for chips, and I usually have barely enough for the enchiladas. Recommend removing seeds from the serranos if your friends or family doesn't love spicy foods :) - delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Wow...so delicious! I found it easier to spoon and swirl the verde onto the fried tortilla, but otherwise I followed everything to a T. The raw onions, cilantro and queso fresco are a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
WoW! These were good! I make enchiladas all the time, but this was my fav recipe. I did my chicken in the crock pot for 4 hours which i believe adds flavor. Grilled my tortillas for a minute per side to leave out any added fat. Loved the verde sauce. Couldn't find cilantro and didn't really need it. Baked at 350 for 15 minutes, dolloped with sour cream and they were great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
double recipe to feed family, super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Less salt, but otherwise brilliant. I didn't find it necessary to double the sauce. We had just what we needed for 16 enchiladas. Also, I went ahead and used two halved chicken breasts (4 halves total) and only had a bit extra meat. It really just depends on the size of the breasts, so eye it up before you cook. This was my first time making enchiladas this way, and there is no going back. Who wants a soupy mess from the oven when you can have wonderful, fresh ingredients prepared from scratch exactly to your liking? One question: how to keep the early batches warm while you're making the rest? By the time we sat down to eat, they were already pretty cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
OH MY GOODNESS ... the best thing since brownies! Would recommend it to anyone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I am always extremely skeptical when I see the term "authentic" applied to any mexican dish. This recipe isn't claiming to be something it's not. It is the real deal. Thank you so much for sharing!!!!! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was super delicious, but dipping the tortillas in the sauce was weird. Kids did not like the sticky wetness when trying to eat their enchiladas. Best salsa verde I've made so far though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkunze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
These enchiladas had some heat, but it was just right for people who love heat. I grilled the chicken with a chipotle seasoning and then shredded it. Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States