Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I'm from Cincinnati and enjoyed Skyline chili my whole life. This recipe is the closest to the original Skyline taste and texture of any I've tested. Great recipe - Great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJGRAU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is very tasty! I used beef broth instead of water to cook the meat, and only half of an onion, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait to try it on hot dogs and hamburgers! Just like the East coast type chili I remember as a child. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
followed all the directions but only let it cool in fridge for 3 hours. great idea to get that fat off! was the best Cincinnati Chili recipe and i've tried a bunch! thanks so much , my family loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WENSMITH
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
A friend from Ohio introduced us to Cincinnati style chili by bringing back a few cans of Skyline. It was delicious but I cringed at the fat content on the label and the greasy residue left in the pan. I chose this recipe over all of the other ones like it because I wanted a healthier version. However, as you might guess, removing fat also diminishes flavor. I still give it five stars because it is the best one to start with, and you can just increase or adjust seasoning to taste. I increased some of the seasonings and added a cube of beef boullion and was able to fool our friend into thinking that I had opened another can. Another good point is that although the texture and consistency is like Skyline's, this version is actually meatier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent! I actually made a vegetarian version with TVP. Turned out really good and got rave reviews from a lot of meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good!!!! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The flavor and texture was spot-on for Cinci Chili. I did change the cooking procedure - the next day I put it in the crock pot to cook all day. It was a little bit water. I skimmed off some of the water and put it back in the fridge. The next day I heated it up on the stove and the consistency was perfect. If I made it again in a crock pot I think I would use less water in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
i had to change this a little to fit what i had on hand and the amount of time i had. i scaled this down to 5. i boiled the beef, drained and rinsed it, then added 2 C water to cover and simmered 30 mins. then i added the rest of the ingredients. i did not have any baking chocolate on hand so i used unsweetened cocoa powder and it worked fine. i also did not have any allspice berries so i added an extra clove instead. i used a tea ball to infuse the clove flavor then removed it at the end. i had to add a little water as it simmered. i tried it after 1 hr 30 mins and felt that was long enough for me. even with all of these changes i dont feel it changed the outcome too much. i look forward to trying this w/ the allspice berries next time. i garnished it w/ pinto beans, sharp cheddar cheese, light sour cream, and red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe. Boiling the meat the night before is a clever way of eliminating all of the fat. My husband was affraid of the chocolate in the recipe but he was a believer once he tried it. The chocolate adds a rich flavor. I made the recipe as is but I did add a can of kidney beans because we like beans in our chili. Fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the actual recipe from Skyline. It was printed in the Cincy Inquirer in the early 70s. I use ground turkey instead of beef and the flavor and texture are the same (my wife says my version is better!). May need to make a batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States