Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WENSMITH
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
A friend from Ohio introduced us to Cincinnati style chili by bringing back a few cans of Skyline. It was delicious but I cringed at the fat content on the label and the greasy residue left in the pan. I chose this recipe over all of the other ones like it because I wanted a healthier version. However, as you might guess, removing fat also diminishes flavor. I still give it five stars because it is the best one to start with, and you can just increase or adjust seasoning to taste. I increased some of the seasonings and added a cube of beef boullion and was able to fool our friend into thinking that I had opened another can. Another good point is that although the texture and consistency is like Skyline's, this version is actually meatier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
followed all the directions but only let it cool in fridge for 3 hours. great idea to get that fat off! was the best Cincinnati Chili recipe and i've tried a bunch! thanks so much , my family loves this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I'm from Cincinnati and enjoyed Skyline chili my whole life. This recipe is the closest to the original Skyline taste and texture of any I've tested. Great recipe - Great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJGRAU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
i had to change this a little to fit what i had on hand and the amount of time i had. i scaled this down to 5. i boiled the beef, drained and rinsed it, then added 2 C water to cover and simmered 30 mins. then i added the rest of the ingredients. i did not have any baking chocolate on hand so i used unsweetened cocoa powder and it worked fine. i also did not have any allspice berries so i added an extra clove instead. i used a tea ball to infuse the clove flavor then removed it at the end. i had to add a little water as it simmered. i tried it after 1 hr 30 mins and felt that was long enough for me. even with all of these changes i dont feel it changed the outcome too much. i look forward to trying this w/ the allspice berries next time. i garnished it w/ pinto beans, sharp cheddar cheese, light sour cream, and red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the actual recipe from Skyline. It was printed in the Cincy Inquirer in the early 70s. I use ground turkey instead of beef and the flavor and texture are the same (my wife says my version is better!). May need to make a batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe. Boiling the meat the night before is a clever way of eliminating all of the fat. My husband was affraid of the chocolate in the recipe but he was a believer once he tried it. The chocolate adds a rich flavor. I made the recipe as is but I did add a can of kidney beans because we like beans in our chili. Fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is very tasty! I used beef broth instead of water to cook the meat, and only half of an onion, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait to try it on hot dogs and hamburgers! Just like the East coast type chili I remember as a child. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent! I actually made a vegetarian version with TVP. Turned out really good and got rave reviews from a lot of meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good!!!! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The flavor and texture was spot-on for Cinci Chili. I did change the cooking procedure - the next day I put it in the crock pot to cook all day. It was a little bit water. I skimmed off some of the water and put it back in the fridge. The next day I heated it up on the stove and the consistency was perfect. If I made it again in a crock pot I think I would use less water in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States