Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I have been using Allrecipes.com for 3-4 years now and have never had incidence with a 5-star recipe before. I created an account SPECIFICALLY to review this recipe. I had Skyline chili yesterday and this chili has a hint of the same flavor, but it is not the same recipe. I followed this recipe exactly and neither my husband nor I could finish our bowls. I'd try one of the Skyline seasoning packets or another recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I've never had Cincinnati Chili before... but we went all out for it and it was very good. We had spaghetti, cheese, and onions. I might make it again if I get a hankering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe was AMAZING!! I added some green bell pepper, a poblano pepper, and some kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
i hate beans so i was very excited to find this recipe for chili without the beans. my family really enjoyed it. we had it on pasta and some of the kids had it with taco shells. very good and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
OH MY GOSH!!! That is really good chili!! I tried making it for my mom and family and they all loved it!!! I am going to teach my cousin tonight how to make it!! I love it that much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This chili is really great! Although my husband and I love spicy food, I had to modify the amount of chili powder to accommodate our 2 year old daughter. We put in 1 teaspoon chili powder along with the 1/2 teaspoon cayenne peeper called for in the recipe. It was very full of flavor. My husband said this is the best chili he has ever had and he knows that he will be craving it soon. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Excellent! Only let it sit in the fridge a few hours; it was difficult to skim the fat but worked fine. Made with cocoa powder instead of melted chocolate. Tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Tastes JUST like Skyline Chili! We don't live in Ohio anymore, so this was a perfect taste of home. Wouldn't change a thing- don't even miss the fat! I had grabbed ground allspice instead of the berries-- so FYI- 1t. of ground=5 berries-- so you need 1t. ground allspice if you don't have berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I thought this was an excellant recipe! Now I don't have to have family ship sauce packets from Ohio! Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This has become one of family's favorite meals. I make it every month we love it so much! I don’t have time usually to follow the recipe exactly so for a short cut I cook the onions and beef together then add beef stock, about 4 cups and let it simmer for about 15 min. before adding all the other ingredients. To speed up the cooking time use 1/2 tsp ground allspice and cloves. It may not be the same but it will cut the entire process down to about an hour and a half. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States