Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very good chili Lots of flavor! Just enough spice very good bowl of chili. I added another 8 oz can of tomato sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I loved this recipe. I have never had Skyline's chili, so I can't compare, but this is certainly a keeper!! It has such depth of flavor. I can't wait for fall when I can comfortably eat this again (summertime and 100+ degrees!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I didn't find scraping the fat necessary. I just cooked the meat in the water (which is very necessary to break up the meat) then drained all the excess liquid off. I added a bouillon cube back to the pan and put fresh water back into the chili, then just continued that way. No need to wait overnight, in my opinion... though *after* everything is cooked, it truly is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Wonderful dish! I added a bit of extra spices as per my preference. One addition to the procedure that makes a world of difference - before serving, put about a fourth of the chili in a blender for a few seconds and then return to the pot. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUMIHIUTALE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I'm from the Cincinnati area and this is dead-on! The only changes I made was instead of allspice berries, used 1/4 teaspoon of ground allspice, and instead of whole cloves, used 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves, and used 2 teaspoons of garlic powder instead of the garlic cloves. Loved it, we had it over spaghetti noodles with finely shredded cheddar cheese. Yum, this is going to be a regular menu item. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I truly enjoyed this chili, it was a nice change from the regular spicy bean chili. I had it 4 way (on spaghetti with shredded cheddar, raw onions & oyster crackers) and loved it. I used ground spices for the allspice & cloves. I also halved the receipe and made half with beef for myself and half with ground turkey for my husband who is allergic to red meat. I also didn't go crazy with the allspice & cloves because I didn't want it to overpower the dish and the result was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
So delicious!! As an Ohio native no longer living in OH, it was so great to eat a taste of home. I added 1 Tbs extra Cinnamon as well as 1 tsp Nutmeg and 2 Tbs sugar to the pot. I took this chili to a party and the crockpot was scraped clean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent! Time consuming but worth every minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Tastes just like the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My 16-year old son absolutely loved this and wants me to make it every week. He says it is just like the Steak and Shake chili that we love. I followed the recipe as written except substituting 1 T. cocoa powder for the chocolate. I am planning to double the recipe next time. Maybe I will have a little left for excellent coney dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States