Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I'd never heard of Cincinnati chili before I saw this recipe. While it was cooking, I have to admit I was skeptical. It smelled like a combination between apple pie and beef. As it turns out, the finished product is fantastic! I have no idea if the recipe is 'authentic' but I do know that it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I'm from Cinci and Skyline is my fave. No recipe will ever match the real deal, but this is very close. I used 1 t. ground allspice since I don't have the berries, 2T cocoa powder instead of real chocolate, and cider vinegar instead of regular. I didn't find it necessary to refrigerate to get the fat off. Using 93% lean hamburger, there wasn't any fat to speak of, and what little there may have been would've only enhanced the flavor. I did have to keep adding more water as it cooked. This recipe was just a tad more meaty than Skyline's. Theirs has a bit more water/grease for saturating the oyster crackers! It is absolutely necessary to finely shred mild cheddar cheese right before serving. The pre-packaged shredded cheddar isn't soft enough. Also, must serve with oyster crackers. One last note: make sure your dog doesn't eat any plate leftovers that go in the garbage. Gives them serious diarrhea. Guess it's not much different than getting some Skyline after drinking all night, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I'm sorry, I don't usually give negative reviews but we just didn't care for this. I guess I'm used to the spicy chili with beans we make here in the mid-west. The cinnamon especially tasted strange to us in a chili. I liked the method for cooking the beef and skimming the fat and I plan to use that in my chili recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Super tasty. My husband and I love this recipe. I didn't have allspice berries, so I added 1 teaspoon of ground allspice and I also didn't have whole cloves, so I used 1 teaspoon of ground cloves. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Served it at a family party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is such a true recipe! I did not have the berries, so I used the allspice powder. I did not have whole cloves but used ground cloves. I also used a large can of tomato paste and added waster to a large bowl first stirred it around really good. I also made a triple batch . Hands down ! this is the closest you will ever come to Cincinnati chili! What the other person do to there batch that it came out so darn bad not sure. I also skipped the frig part I strained my meat in a fine wire strainer and ran water over it to get ll the fat off.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky sand
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wasn't a fan of the cinnamon but everyone else loved it! I'll make it again and use 1/2 of the cinnamon and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Not Skyline, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very good chili Lots of flavor! Just enough spice very good bowl of chili. I added another 8 oz can of tomato sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I loved this recipe. I have never had Skyline's chili, so I can't compare, but this is certainly a keeper!! It has such depth of flavor. I can't wait for fall when I can comfortably eat this again (summertime and 100+ degrees!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States