Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Probably would not make this again. Way too soupy!Flavor was just okay. If you just dumped a can of chili on a plate of spaghetti would probably be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
By no means am I a Cincinnati Chili expert, and perhaps this is an acquired taste. But, it was pretty good and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Tastes like the real deal to me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I lived in Cincinnati in the 70's and became addicted to Cincinnati Chili. So when it came time to move to California I had scoured for the best recipe. This is the exact same recipe I have been using since 1978. Its great for Chili Cheese dogs too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was wonderful! I was a little sceptical at first because it was different than anything I have made before but it was delicious. Best chili I have ever made according to family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I did not take two days to make this, however I did remove fat from the hamburger meat. I also did not boil the meat, I browned it with the onions. Then I removed the fat with a turkey baster. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe turned out EXCELLENT!! I had Cincinnati chili in the airport while passing through there last year & have been hankering for more... This recipe does it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I was in a real rush to get this on the table so I didn't put it in the fridge overnight. I was able to boil the meat then drain and rinse in a colander to get the fat off. I added water to the level of the meat then put the rest of the ingredients in and simmered for 1.5 hours. It turned out great! I did this recipe 10X, yes I said ten, for a group of 100 this summer just like instructed and it was the hit of the swim team meals! Thanks for bringing Cinci to Houston!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixofus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I prepared this chili for a tailgate in Cincinnati (Browns v Bengals). It was awesome! I served it 4-way (over spaghetti with chopped onions, cheese and oyster crackers). Even the local Cincinnatians gave their enthusiastic approval. They said it tasted like their famous Skyline chili, only a little spicier....which they liked. The only problem with this recipe is the serving amount. I bumped it up to 15 servings to allow for seconds, but I don't think more than 10-12 bowls were served. If you're serving 6-8 people you need to double the recipe. It really cooks down when it's finished and you're definitely going to have people coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I am from Ohio but now live in New England and was craving skyline... I made this and it completely hit the spot!!! I used ground turkey and skipped the cooling process and I think it turned out perfectly!! Even my friends liked it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States