Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I lived in Cincinnati in the 70's and became addicted to Cincinnati Chili. So when it came time to move to California I had scoured for the best recipe. This is the exact same recipe I have been using since 1978. Its great for Chili Cheese dogs too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was wonderful! I was a little sceptical at first because it was different than anything I have made before but it was delicious. Best chili I have ever made according to family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I did not take two days to make this, however I did remove fat from the hamburger meat. I also did not boil the meat, I browned it with the onions. Then I removed the fat with a turkey baster. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe turned out EXCELLENT!! I had Cincinnati chili in the airport while passing through there last year & have been hankering for more... This recipe does it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dumblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I was in a real rush to get this on the table so I didn't put it in the fridge overnight. I was able to boil the meat then drain and rinse in a colander to get the fat off. I added water to the level of the meat then put the rest of the ingredients in and simmered for 1.5 hours. It turned out great! I did this recipe 10X, yes I said ten, for a group of 100 this summer just like instructed and it was the hit of the swim team meals! Thanks for bringing Cinci to Houston!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixofus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I prepared this chili for a tailgate in Cincinnati (Browns v Bengals). It was awesome! I served it 4-way (over spaghetti with chopped onions, cheese and oyster crackers). Even the local Cincinnatians gave their enthusiastic approval. They said it tasted like their famous Skyline chili, only a little spicier....which they liked. The only problem with this recipe is the serving amount. I bumped it up to 15 servings to allow for seconds, but I don't think more than 10-12 bowls were served. If you're serving 6-8 people you need to double the recipe. It really cooks down when it's finished and you're definitely going to have people coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I am from Ohio but now live in New England and was craving skyline... I made this and it completely hit the spot!!! I used ground turkey and skipped the cooling process and I think it turned out perfectly!! Even my friends liked it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe but I wanted something like Skyline. This did not disappoint! I didn't have any cloves so I just used a little more allspice (ground, didn't even know they were berries). I also added a dash of turmeric, coriander, and nutmeg as I saw it used in other similar recipes. I also only had one small can of tomato sauce (oops) so I added a small can of tomato paste and extra water. Everything else, I used according to the recipe. I may have cooked the meat too quickly because I broke up several big chunks during the three hour simmer but it was still great and the texture came together in the last hour. I also added kidney beans a few minutes before serving since that's how I like it. It def took some time but was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The first time I prepared this recipe, a few months ago, was the very first time I ever had Cincinnati chili and I prepared it as a "five-way," with spaghetti, chili, onions, beans and shredded Cheddar. The only thing I did differently was to omit the chocolate (none on hand) and I used 1 tsp. of ground allspice instead of the whole berries. It was quite delicious, and in tasting the chili, I noticed that it was remarkably like the chili sauce used at one of my all-time favorite Worcester, MA haunts, George's Coney Island Hot Dogs, an institution in that city for almost one hundred years. So, while the chili with the spaghetti, et al, is great, I have been making batches of the chili to freeze to have on hand to make my own "Coney Dogs," Kayem Skinnies slathered with this sauce, yellow mustard and minced white onions on a New England style hot dog roll. I even give this sauce away as gifts, it is so popular. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I'd never heard of Cincinnati chili before I saw this recipe. While it was cooking, I have to admit I was skeptical. It smelled like a combination between apple pie and beef. As it turns out, the finished product is fantastic! I have no idea if the recipe is 'authentic' but I do know that it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States