Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this Sunday/Monday and I will preface this review by saying that my only exposure with this style of 'chili' is via the frozen Skyline 2-way microwavable meal and a "Cincinnati Style" chili dry seasoning mix. However, I enjoyed both of those and wanted to go fresher. I made the recipe as-is, with the only change being to portion size. I boiled Angus 85-15 beef as directed and let it sit overnight to solidify the fat. I also pre-mixed all of the dry ingredients and pre-chopped the onions to make it easier to dump everything in a slow cooker on a workday morning. We don't care for the consistency of onions in my house, so I used a food processor to very finely chop the onions and garlic together, using the vinegar and worchestershire sauce to help. Overall, I liked the flavor, but not the wateriness. Next time, I will follow what some others did and just rinse the beef in a colander or wire strainer. Then I will probably use reduced sodium beef broth to add as much liquid as needed. I will also fresh-grind the cloves and allspice berries just prior to adding, instead of cooking them whole. The flavor was lacking something (based on my limited experience disclaimer at the top), so I will work on it next time. 4 stars from me. Thanks for reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used to have a recipe like this years ago but lost it. I couldn't find another so I was thrilled to find it here. Thanks so much for sharing it! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I basically followed the recipe but made a few minor changes. This turned out a little more spicy than I like. My husband (who's from Cincinnati) said it has a Skyline flavor with Goldstar spiciness. My mods: 1) I did not do the overnight skim thing, I used grass fed ground beef which doesn't have enough fat to make that step worth my time. 2) I used 1/4 t ground clove in place of whole clove. 3) I used 1 t ground allspice in place of allspice berries. 4) I used 3 T cocoa powder in stead of the square. 5) I forgot the bay leaf! I would definitely make this again but cut back on the amount of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
My husband developed a beef allergy as an adult (can you say PAIN!), so we assumed our skyline days were over. We decided to try this recipe with ground turkey, and we were AMAZED by how close it tasted to the real thing. I did not think it stood a chance, but I honestly did not taste the difference. That said, you have to put the cooked turkey through a food processor to break it down into those time pieces, or it would just not be the right consistency. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Better than Skyline and Gold Star! I made this with 1# ground beef instead of 2# and left out the cloves. Spectacular! A little spicy, sour, savory. Great improvement (dare I say) over the local Cinti chains...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great, delicious, couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Awesome! So flavorful... I used regular allspice as I had no allspice berries and browned the beef and slow cooked it for about 7 hours. To get the fine texture I used an immersion blender, which worked great. I served it over spaghetti with a mound of finely grated cheddar and oyster crackers. This is a great recipe to freeze for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Similar to Skyline but bitter flavor. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Probably would not make this again. Way too soupy!Flavor was just okay. If you just dumped a can of chili on a plate of spaghetti would probably be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
By no means am I a Cincinnati Chili expert, and perhaps this is an acquired taste. But, it was pretty good and will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States