Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I think that there is just a little too much chocolate in it and needs more cinnamon. And many a few too many onions (and I like onions). But it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We've used this recipe for a few years now. My hubby went to Louisville and ate at Skyline and this is just like it. I don't refrigerate over night I just use 97% lean ground beef and it never seems to be too greasy. I don't use whole allspice berries as I can't seem to find them so I use 1 1/2tsp powder and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe to the exact and what came out tasted nothing like what I was expecting, didn't smell like it either(which probably would have helped). If you're planning on making this from nothing, meaning you gotta buy all the ingredients, I would rethink that. Buying all the ingredients to make this costs me over $60. Yeah, I got enough left to make it a few more times but that's definitely not going to happen. If you're just gonna throw it over spaghetti or hot dogs, just buy the cans at the grocery .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I love Cincinnati chilli. Ive tried several recipes for this but this one is by far my favorite I'm from the UK so I had no experience with this type of chilli, but this also meant I had no preconceptions of how it should taste. I love Greek and Lebanese food and this has similar flavour to dishes from that part of the world. When i lived in DC, our circle of friends were from all across the US snd from many countries of the world We frequently had potlucks and had people bring in an authentic recipe from their part of the world. Our Indianapolis friend brought Cincinnati chilli. She gave me the recipe and I lost it. After I moved away from DC I also lost touch with her, so I have spent some time trying to find a recipe that compared to hers and this is the closest one I've found. Those expecting texas style chilli are going to be disappointed since this is very different I did not make any changes to this other than that I used lean beef and didn't see the need to remove the fat. Rather than spend 3 hours simmering this on the stovetop, I cooked it in my crockpot for 5 hours on low and it came out great. It tastes even better the next day and can easily be frozen. I am a single person so I make half the recipe and then halve the results of that One half of this I use for two meals and one half I freeze for two future meals. This is a very economical dish with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My great aunt in Cincinnati clipped this recipe out of the paper decades ago and I've used it ever since. Sometimes I tinker with it and add kidney beans, and use diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I gave this 5 stars because it is authentic. However I am not a Cincinnatian by birth so I make a revised version for my family and I eat it. I still love this recipe though, couldn't bring myself to rate it any lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this last night for the first time and I didn't have cloves or allspice, but it didn't matter, it was amazing anyway!! I also used ground turkey and didn't refrigerate it over night. Still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It was good but way too salty. So while it simmered and I taste-tested it, I ended up adding sugar, way more cinnamon, a bit more powdered clove, and some nutmeg. My recommendation is to go to a restaurant that knows how to make Cincinnati chili, then you can take a recipe like this and tweak it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good and different flavored chili than I am use to. I cut the cinnamon down to 1/2 tsp. and added chopped rehydrated ancho chiles to the mix. Works great in the crock pot, just reduced the water to 2 1/2 cups. Left overs make a great tamale, or shepherd’s pie base for a spice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have made this recipe about 6 times and according to my father, who grew up in Cincinnati, this is it! I make this without the refrigeration though, I just drain and rice with cold water, much faster. I use 3tbsp cocoa instead of the solid chocolate, and a teaspoon each of cloves and allspice instead of the whole cloves and allspice berries. I also add in a can of kidney beans to cook with the chili, much better than serving on top. I had the problem of it burning on the bottom no matter how low I turned the heat. Might just be my pan, but I found a way around it! I brown the meat in a pan and drain/rinse, then I combine all the ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook on high all day, stirring every 3hours, perfect chili every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornnymph22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States