Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe to the exact and what came out tasted nothing like what I was expecting, didn't smell like it either(which probably would have helped). If you're planning on making this from nothing, meaning you gotta buy all the ingredients, I would rethink that. Buying all the ingredients to make this costs me over $60. Yeah, I got enough left to make it a few more times but that's definitely not going to happen. If you're just gonna throw it over spaghetti or hot dogs, just buy the cans at the grocery .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I love Cincinnati chilli. Ive tried several recipes for this but this one is by far my favorite I'm from the UK so I had no experience with this type of chilli, but this also meant I had no preconceptions of how it should taste. I love Greek and Lebanese food and this has similar flavour to dishes from that part of the world. When i lived in DC, our circle of friends were from all across the US snd from many countries of the world We frequently had potlucks and had people bring in an authentic recipe from their part of the world. Our Indianapolis friend brought Cincinnati chilli. She gave me the recipe and I lost it. After I moved away from DC I also lost touch with her, so I have spent some time trying to find a recipe that compared to hers and this is the closest one I've found. Those expecting texas style chilli are going to be disappointed since this is very different I did not make any changes to this other than that I used lean beef and didn't see the need to remove the fat. Rather than spend 3 hours simmering this on the stovetop, I cooked it in my crockpot for 5 hours on low and it came out great. It tastes even better the next day and can easily be frozen. I am a single person so I make half the recipe and then halve the results of that One half of this I use for two meals and one half I freeze for two future meals. This is a very economical dish with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My great aunt in Cincinnati clipped this recipe out of the paper decades ago and I've used it ever since. Sometimes I tinker with it and add kidney beans, and use diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I gave this 5 stars because it is authentic. However I am not a Cincinnatian by birth so I make a revised version for my family and I eat it. I still love this recipe though, couldn't bring myself to rate it any lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this last night for the first time and I didn't have cloves or allspice, but it didn't matter, it was amazing anyway!! I also used ground turkey and didn't refrigerate it over night. Still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It was good but way too salty. So while it simmered and I taste-tested it, I ended up adding sugar, way more cinnamon, a bit more powdered clove, and some nutmeg. My recommendation is to go to a restaurant that knows how to make Cincinnati chili, then you can take a recipe like this and tweak it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good and different flavored chili than I am use to. I cut the cinnamon down to 1/2 tsp. and added chopped rehydrated ancho chiles to the mix. Works great in the crock pot, just reduced the water to 2 1/2 cups. Left overs make a great tamale, or shepherd’s pie base for a spice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have made this recipe about 6 times and according to my father, who grew up in Cincinnati, this is it! I make this without the refrigeration though, I just drain and rice with cold water, much faster. I use 3tbsp cocoa instead of the solid chocolate, and a teaspoon each of cloves and allspice instead of the whole cloves and allspice berries. I also add in a can of kidney beans to cook with the chili, much better than serving on top. I had the problem of it burning on the bottom no matter how low I turned the heat. Might just be my pan, but I found a way around it! I brown the meat in a pan and drain/rinse, then I combine all the ingredients in the crock pot and let it cook on high all day, stirring every 3hours, perfect chili every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unicornnymph22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
My husband and I thought this was to die for. We have had it over spaghetti and over hot dogs. It makes a lot and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My husband and I agreed the cinnamon was incredibly overbearing. It might have been good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States