Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I am from Ohio, and this is the best! The method of cooking beef in water, is exactly the texture you are looking for in "skyline" chili. The native way is over spaghetti, also great as a footlong chili dog, chili topped burgers, or any other way you can think of to use a thick chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was awesome and tasted soooo much like the real thing, but without the grease! I did not have whole cloves or the allspice berries, so I used 1 1/2 tsp of ground. I did take another's advice and used beef broth instead of water, and it was saltier than I'd like. I will use water next time! THANK YOU THANK YOU Melissa for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
My husband and I have seen this Chili on a couple of different TV shows and were really looking forward to trying this. I stuck to the recipe exactly, except used ground instead of whole spices as someone else suggested. I served it over spaghetti with cheddar cheese, and the next day on hotdogs. This seems to be an acquired taste, as we didn't care for it at first. It was after several bites and a few good shakes of hot sauce that we decided we liked it, just didn't love it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was amazing.. I used coca power instead of bakers chocoalte b/c i had no blocks and i used ground clove and allspice because i had no whole spices... it still turned out amazing!Husband LOVED it... we put ours on hotdogs with onions and cheese Its GrEAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the actual recipe from Skyline. It was printed in the Cincy Inquirer in the early 70s. I use ground turkey instead of beef and the flavor and texture are the same (my wife says my version is better!). May need to make a batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The flavor and texture was spot-on for Cinci Chili. I did change the cooking procedure - the next day I put it in the crock pot to cook all day. It was a little bit water. I skimmed off some of the water and put it back in the fridge. The next day I heated it up on the stove and the consistency was perfect. If I made it again in a crock pot I think I would use less water in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very good!!!! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent! I actually made a vegetarian version with TVP. Turned out really good and got rave reviews from a lot of meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is very tasty! I used beef broth instead of water to cook the meat, and only half of an onion, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait to try it on hot dogs and hamburgers! Just like the East coast type chili I remember as a child. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe. Boiling the meat the night before is a clever way of eliminating all of the fat. My husband was affraid of the chocolate in the recipe but he was a believer once he tried it. The chocolate adds a rich flavor. I made the recipe as is but I did add a can of kidney beans because we like beans in our chili. Fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States