Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was amazing!! Tastes just like Skyline!!!! I used turkey instead of beef and used it for spaghetti and coneys! I highly recommend this recipe for anyone else who loves Cincinnati chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I am from Ohio and now live in Iowa. We don't have any GoldStars or Skyline chili's around so it is so nice to make it at home. They do have packets ( in Ohio at least that I know of) at the store that you can buy, but let me tell you that this is better. Don't make any changes to this! It is perfect as is!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticDiva84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
this recipe is also awesome for chili dogs (coneys) the kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Mills, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Great chili recipe. First time I've ever heard of Cincinnati Chili. Fantastic flavour. I'll try it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I am from Ohio, and this is the best! The method of cooking beef in water, is exactly the texture you are looking for in "skyline" chili. The native way is over spaghetti, also great as a footlong chili dog, chili topped burgers, or any other way you can think of to use a thick chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was awesome and tasted soooo much like the real thing, but without the grease! I did not have whole cloves or the allspice berries, so I used 1 1/2 tsp of ground. I did take another's advice and used beef broth instead of water, and it was saltier than I'd like. I will use water next time! THANK YOU THANK YOU Melissa for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
My husband and I have seen this Chili on a couple of different TV shows and were really looking forward to trying this. I stuck to the recipe exactly, except used ground instead of whole spices as someone else suggested. I served it over spaghetti with cheddar cheese, and the next day on hotdogs. This seems to be an acquired taste, as we didn't care for it at first. It was after several bites and a few good shakes of hot sauce that we decided we liked it, just didn't love it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was amazing.. I used coca power instead of bakers chocoalte b/c i had no blocks and i used ground clove and allspice because i had no whole spices... it still turned out amazing!Husband LOVED it... we put ours on hotdogs with onions and cheese Its GrEAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the actual recipe from Skyline. It was printed in the Cincy Inquirer in the early 70s. I use ground turkey instead of beef and the flavor and texture are the same (my wife says my version is better!). May need to make a batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
The flavor and texture was spot-on for Cinci Chili. I did change the cooking procedure - the next day I put it in the crock pot to cook all day. It was a little bit water. I skimmed off some of the water and put it back in the fridge. The next day I heated it up on the stove and the consistency was perfect. If I made it again in a crock pot I think I would use less water in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States