Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is a great recipe exactly as is but I used allspice powder and ground cloves. I posted the recipe under my profile with these slight modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
When bringing the ground beef and water up to a boil, break it up with a stick blender - it takes seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this 5-way for my son heading out to Cincinnati this month. Wasn't sure of the ingredients but made it as written. It was a hit, and my son is kinda picky so you know it is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I have used this recipe 3 times so far, and it is AMAZING. Like other people who have commented, I substitute 1 tsp of ground allspice for the 5 allspice berries. This results in a more consistent allspice flavor throughout. Also, I make sure to use white onions (instead of yellow or red). The smooth sweetness of white onions compliments this recipe perfectly. This Cincinnati chili recipe absolutely punishes the stuff made at H*rd T*mes. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demetri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I prepared this up with some left over turkey burgers in the freezer that we needed to get rid of. I thawed them out then started boiling it per the recipe. I added two beef bullion cubes to compensate for the lack of actual beef. Followed everything else and it was delicious! We like our food spicy, so I added more cayenne and chili powder. Served it up with kidney beans and jalapenos. No cheese ( I know) because we are watching the fat and are lactose intolerant, but it still turned out delicious! We had it with thin spaghetti noodles. Yum. Don't forget to SALT SALT SALT the spaghetti noodles before boiling them. One other tip, I don't like having to search for whole cloves, bay leaf, and all spice so I stuck them into a coffee filter bag. Cut out a strip of the coffee filter from the top then used that as a string to tie the bag together. Works perfectly, cheap, and easy to get rid of the spices when I needed to. Really love the ability to skim the fat in this recipe. No more weird orange fat that turns SOLID in the bowl while finishing up dinner!! And of course.. the Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great recipe! Awesome chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I found this recipe in Jeff Smiths 'The frugal Gourmet Cooks American' years ago, and have made it frequently. There is 5 ways to have this. Make the recipe, then to serve: 1. the meat and spiced chili 2. the chili comes on a pile of spaghetti. 3. spaghetti, chili and grated cheese. 4. add chopped yellow onions and 5. beans.! Enjoy it your favorite way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very good version. I've tried several different versions and even tried using bits and pieces of each to find just the right blend(tough to do). This one works very well and can always be tweaked for your personal tastes. For those who like the consistency a little finer (me), after you've boiled the meat, take a hand blender to the pot. This makes it very fine! As a Cincinnati native living in Chicago, I'm always looking for a good fix. I grew up on this stuff! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I'm a big fan of Real Chili in Milwaukee and this comes pretty close. I used hot, red chili from New Mexico, which made this spicy, spicy, spicy! I skipped the refrigeration after cooking the meat, BUT I did think the chili was MUCH better the next day at lunch after refriging the entire pot overnight. In the future, I will probably allow that mellowing time if I plan to serve this to guests. The only thing I changed was using 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder instead of the baking chocolate, only because it's what I had on-hand. Pretty great recipe as is, and if you complain about cinnamon and chocolate being in your chili, then you shouldn't be looking at Cincinnati style chili recipes...that's what makes this unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious. My entire family gobbled it down. I can't tell it apart from the original, even though I had to make a few modifications/substitutions. I used 3 Tb. cocoa powder instead of the unsweetened chocolate because that's what I had on hand. I also had no whole cloves, bay leaves or whole allspice berries, so I substituted 1 tsp. of ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States