Authentic Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I'm a big fan of Real Chili in Milwaukee and this comes pretty close. I used hot, red chili from New Mexico, which made this spicy, spicy, spicy! I skipped the refrigeration after cooking the meat, BUT I did think the chili was MUCH better the next day at lunch after refriging the entire pot overnight. In the future, I will probably allow that mellowing time if I plan to serve this to guests. The only thing I changed was using 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder instead of the baking chocolate, only because it's what I had on-hand. Pretty great recipe as is, and if you complain about cinnamon and chocolate being in your chili, then you shouldn't be looking at Cincinnati style chili recipes...that's what makes this unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious. My entire family gobbled it down. I can't tell it apart from the original, even though I had to make a few modifications/substitutions. I used 3 Tb. cocoa powder instead of the unsweetened chocolate because that's what I had on hand. I also had no whole cloves, bay leaves or whole allspice berries, so I substituted 1 tsp. of ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is it! After fond memories of spending a long summer working in Cincinnati and going out to Skyline every Friday with my colleagues, I have been wracked with Skyline Chili cravings ever since. (No Goldstar, thank you! Although Goldstar was better on hot dogs, if I recall.) The cans of Skyline do not cut it, with their metallic tinge. The off-brand packets are not even close. I made this almost exactly as written, and it was perfect. The key - do not skim the fat. Put in extra fat if you use lean ground beef. 1) That's where the flavor is. 2) Fat is good for you - read Nourishing Traditions or Eat Fat, Lose Fat, or anything by Mary Enig. Low fat is what's making us fat - fat is what allows us to absorb vitamins. (And I used grassfed ground beef for the beefiest flavor and best nutritional profile.) Anyway, I served this on top of spaghetti with raw onions and oyster crackers. Then I froze what was left and later made the Skyline Chili Dip (layer with cream cheese, cheddar cheese, and onion) and served with french fries for dipping. (Fried in healthy grassfed beef tallow.) It was unbelievably good, and even my picky husband has asked for more. Thank you for this recipe! I had almost given up on Skyline chili at home, after several random internet recipes had failed, and even the Cook's Illustrated version was a bust. Thank you thank you thank you thank you. [Modifications: Do not skim the fat for best flavor. Unsweetened cocoa powder, ground cloves and ground allspice.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I think that there is just a little too much chocolate in it and needs more cinnamon. And many a few too many onions (and I like onions). But it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We've used this recipe for a few years now. My hubby went to Louisville and ate at Skyline and this is just like it. I don't refrigerate over night I just use 97% lean ground beef and it never seems to be too greasy. I don't use whole allspice berries as I can't seem to find them so I use 1 1/2tsp powder and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe to the exact and what came out tasted nothing like what I was expecting, didn't smell like it either(which probably would have helped). If you're planning on making this from nothing, meaning you gotta buy all the ingredients, I would rethink that. Buying all the ingredients to make this costs me over $60. Yeah, I got enough left to make it a few more times but that's definitely not going to happen. If you're just gonna throw it over spaghetti or hot dogs, just buy the cans at the grocery .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I love Cincinnati chilli. Ive tried several recipes for this but this one is by far my favorite I'm from the UK so I had no experience with this type of chilli, but this also meant I had no preconceptions of how it should taste. I love Greek and Lebanese food and this has similar flavour to dishes from that part of the world. When i lived in DC, our circle of friends were from all across the US snd from many countries of the world We frequently had potlucks and had people bring in an authentic recipe from their part of the world. Our Indianapolis friend brought Cincinnati chilli. She gave me the recipe and I lost it. After I moved away from DC I also lost touch with her, so I have spent some time trying to find a recipe that compared to hers and this is the closest one I've found. Those expecting texas style chilli are going to be disappointed since this is very different I did not make any changes to this other than that I used lean beef and didn't see the need to remove the fat. Rather than spend 3 hours simmering this on the stovetop, I cooked it in my crockpot for 5 hours on low and it came out great. It tastes even better the next day and can easily be frozen. I am a single person so I make half the recipe and then halve the results of that One half of this I use for two meals and one half I freeze for two future meals. This is a very economical dish with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My great aunt in Cincinnati clipped this recipe out of the paper decades ago and I've used it ever since. Sometimes I tinker with it and add kidney beans, and use diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I gave this 5 stars because it is authentic. However I am not a Cincinnatian by birth so I make a revised version for my family and I eat it. I still love this recipe though, couldn't bring myself to rate it any lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this last night for the first time and I didn't have cloves or allspice, but it didn't matter, it was amazing anyway!! I also used ground turkey and didn't refrigerate it over night. Still awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States