Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is FANTASTIC! My kids absolutely loved these. We opted to do all the chopping and cutting ourselves - great bonding experience & the kids felt proud. Thank you for sharing your family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was as authentic as I could possibly get at home. It would probably be a good idea to make a bunch of these up and freeze them. I have nothing negative to say about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ban_the_circus

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I made this recipe with my 1st grade class to celebrate Chinese New Year. It was easy and the kids really liked it. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These are by far the BEST egg rolls ever! My kids like it better than what we get at teh resterant! One change- I don't eat pork, so I substitute chicken with the bbq sauce from another recipe on this site- chinese dumplings with bbq pork. Great great great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These were so good. The only thing i didn't add was the msg, but overall these were awesome. I will absolutely make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were pretty good. The filling was a little bland so before filling them I added a little bit of powdered ginger. That helped a lot. We fried half of them and baked half of them sprayed with PAM. The fried ones were better and had the restaurant-style texture. The baked ones were good too just a little too crispy. However, since we are not big fans of frying food next time we will probably bake them all since they were still pretty good. These freeze well too. We did freeze some that were uncooked and baked them the other night. I would recommend seperating them with parchment or wax paper before freezing otherwise they will stick together. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My husband said it tasted too healthy... and it was deep fried! Too much cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very good tasting eggroll, I used a little bokchoy,along with the cabbage and some bean sprouts.I will make this again. Thank You for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
These were the BEST Egg Rolls. We have a Chinese student living with us and she said that they were as good as her mothers!! I used shimp chopped up instead of pork and regular button mushrooms, ( stems removed ). My family ate them all up. VERY GOOD Thank you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were really good. I found the egg roll wrappers in the produce section. The flavor grew on me after a while. I upped the soy sauce a bit and used chopped shrimp in place of the pork. Served w/ duck sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States