Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I used this recipe as a base for creating a great tasting egg roll. I omitted the following: bamboo shoots, pork, MSG. I used 8oz. fresh white button mushrooms, chopped, in place of the wood ear mushrooms. I threw some shredded, cooked chicken in half the egg rolls. I didn't refrigerate the cabbage mixture until cold (didn't leave myself enough time for this step.) I used an ice cream scoop to put a small pile on each egg roll wrapper and then wrapped and fried as directed. These had a great flavor - my husband said they were better than he's had in a Chinese restaurant and our 2 1/2 year old son loved them too. We could have eaten the whole batch (it made about 18 egg rolls,) but we showed some restraint and I froze the rest. They re-heat great in the oven (still crisp!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Excellent recipe. It's a snap to make with these simple modifications. In place of the cabbage and carrot chopping ordeal, I bought a bag of slaw that was already chopped and contained cabbage and carrot. I also opted out the pork and replaced it with a 1lb bag of cooked and cleaned small shrimp, so I just added it. With everything at hand it only took the few short minutes to stir fry it all up and stick it in the frig. When I was ready to roll them up I was suprised at how quick and easy that was. While they were frying I made won ton soup to go with them The recipe made 13 perfect egg rolls. My family loved them And I will definately make them again. It was a quick and easy recipe., Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I'd give these 10 stars if I could! I had to make some changes based on what I had on hand (no time for a trip to the store!) and they were still excellent! My changes: ground pork for matchstick cut BBQ pork, fresh bean sprouts for cabbage (about 3/4s were added and cooked, the other 1/4 were added at the last minute for more crunch). I was making potstickers for this meal, too... they had cabbage and pork... and I needed to use the bean sprouts. These were better than any I have ever purchased! And I do have a jar of MSG, so added that, as well. (My only editorial comment is that SOME people need to get over the "authentic" part because MSG is not 300 years old! Family recipes are adapted over time and MSG is a good addition. We should just be glad that the recipe was shared with us!!) My husband loves potstickers but these are MUCH quicker and easier to make, so I fill him up with these and make potstickers as a side dish! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!! IT IS WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wonderful! I didn't really use oil, just cooking spray. I omitted the MSG, and I actually "fried" the eggrolls in the cooking spray to brown, then put them in the oven at 425 for a few minutes. They were crispy & yummy. Didn't look as pretty as fried, but much healthier. I also only used egg whites & used the Chinese Pork Tenderloin from this site for the pork & sweet & sour sauce from here as well, but they really didn't need the sauce. A+ & very healthy with slight modifications. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Awesome, awesome, awesome!! I used the "Chinese Pork Tenderloin" recipe also available on this website for the Chinese barbequed pork. I used a whole carrot and eliminated the mushrooms (not a big fan). I will never try another egg roll recipe. These were great! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These eggrolls are incredible! Because I don't eat pork, I used about 1/2 lb. chopped shrimp. I had sliced roast beef from the deli in my fridge, I sliced about 1/2 pound thin and put that in also along with 2 big garlic cloves. Lastly, I also used about 1 tablespoon of sweet soy sauce. The cool thing was when I first laid it the pan to cool it was full of water from the cabbage. I said "Oh I can drain that later", 2 hours later when I wanted to roll them, the water had be reabsorbed by the cabbage! Usually I drain that water and drain all the flavor along with it! Great idea! Thank you for your family recipe, I will pass it along to my children as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These were great! The whole batch just disappeared. I made a few changes to use what was on hand at the time and found them to be more like the rolls that my favorite restaurant in Chicago made. I substituted bean sprouts for bamboo shoots, shiitake mushrooms and used hoisin sauce on the pork as it cooked, left out the MSG too. OMG!!! I may put the ole deepfryer to use more often now. Thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I love this recipe!!! I could sit down and eat all of them by myself! I especially like that this is an authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Fabulous recipe. No improvements needed. This is a keeper for the whole family and generations to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
OMG! These are soooo good! My husband came running in from outside and devoured 4 at once. I altered only a few things because of allergies. First I omitted the MSG and replaced tofu (that I seasoned) for the bbq pork. Nobody could tell the difference! My family is already asking me when I'll be making these again. Thanks for an authentic tasting egg roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States