Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Amazing. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made these exactly as written except for MSG, and unfortunately I don't have easy access to wood ears. I used portabella cut into match sticks since I had a few on hand. Next time I make them I will add some hoisin or oyster sauce for a little additional kick. I also think allowing the cabbage mixture to rest longer will infuse it with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were fantastic! I used button mushrooms instead of wood ear, Chinese cabbage, honey instead of sugar, and a ginger, garlic, red pepper spice mix instead of MSG. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were the BEST! My family started eating them before I finished cooking them. I didn't have BBQ pork so I subbed with a 4oz. can of tiny shrimp. Also used a bag of slaw (cabbage, carrot, broccoli & cauliflower) and added some bean sprouts as another recipe called for. The egg rolls were fresh and very tasty. A little time consuming but was thinking I could keep the cabbage mixture in the fridge and fry up whatever portion I might need for a meal. Thanks for the REAL recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Egg rolls are my favorite chinese-type food.....I loved them. Not too difficult to make either...except you better know how to make chinese barbecued or roasted pork...which isn't difficult either! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Fantastic! I didn't use barbequed pork (and I'm sure this would have sent it over the top), but rather, boiled some chicken breast and shredded it - as it's what I had on hand. Next time, I'd add some hoisin sauce or some type of a smoky/bbq flavoring if using chicken. Left out the MSG (absolutely no need for this preserving ingredient, I'd think!), AND, didn't fry them.. but rather, baked at 400 for about 15-20 minutes - until golden. Just make sure to spray the baking sheet with oil and also to spray the tops of the eggrolls with oil. Such an easy, healthy (when baked!), eggroll recipe! No need for any sauce, but I bet a sweet and sour would be quite yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I left out the bamboo shoots and the mushrooms because I didn't have them but WOW are these good. I did add a pinch of ginger but wish I wouldn't have. Next time I might up the sugar a pinch. Serve with hot mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
OMG!! These were AMAZING!! I made these for company and they couldn't believe I had made them myself. It does take a lot of time and prep but it makes a lot and they freeze really well. Re-heat in the oven and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
OMG I made these for my annual Christmas Eve dinner and they were really a hit. Thanks so much for the recipe and it is a keeper for now on. I got phone calls for the whole week asking if I would make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I really do feel like the party pooper here, but I didn't find this recipe to be all that flavorful. I didn't use the mushrooms because my wife and I don't like them but I did use more green onions than called for and I used the cole slaw mix as other suggested and added some extra shredded carrots and a little more soy sauce, but no MSG. Maybe that was the problem. I'm going to have to play with this because it did have potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States