Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Um? 300 year old MSG, huh? I doubt the authenticity of this recipe, and the results were fine. Nothing fantastic, tasted like any other egg roll I've ever had. But It definitely wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
thanks! I will try this authentic egg roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These were delicious, but it seemed like something was missing - but I can't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
the last time i made these my son ate about 15 all by himself, now if i am going to make them i have to sit and make around 60 egg rolls and everyone sniffs them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very, very good. Only thing is that I needed to packages of wrappers- which is great since my family ate them so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Absolutely Phenomenal. These were the best eggrolls every. Better than any chinese restaurant I have been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These are so easy and excellent! I was able to do all of the chopping & cooking and still get them on the table in 70 minutes by skipping the refrigeration step. I had lots of leftover filling even though I used more than 3 T. per egg roll...so next time I'll buy two packages of egg roll wrappers. Also, I fried the entire batch of egg rolls in about 1/4 inch of oil...it isn't necessary to fry them in 6 inches of oil! I just kept slowly turning them in the oil; they cook very quickly so check on them often. I used unseasoned cooked chicken breast instead of barbequed or roast pork and omitted the MSG, but added a little black pepper--the flavor turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The husband and I loved these! I ended up using the ground pork and omitted the mushrooms as they just gross me out. Oh...I didn't use the MSG either. I thought the flavor was great and will definitely use this recipe in the future. Next time I will try the recipe to the T as my husband DOES enjoy mushrooms as does his family. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made some adjustments to my desire: Did not included MSG (unhealthy), bamboo or pork. Used regular white mushrooms instead of wood ear mushroom. Added ginger, garlic, a pinch of cayenne, water chestnut, bean spouts, toasted sesame oil, and scrabbled eggs in the cabbage mixture. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States