Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
these egg rolls are the best I've tried. My family loved them and these are definately a keeper!! Followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Just finished making this and I have to say they are wonderful! Easy to make and taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinlan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
We loved these! Recipe was easy to follow and my family devoured the egg rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I have been making my own egg rolls for years but this recipe got so many great reviews I decided to try it. I did use pork - ground some shoulder and browned it. I only used 1/2 pound and increased veggies using straw mushrooms, bean sprouts, coleslaw mix (cheated. Loved the egg in the mix and did add some sesame oil. Will make again and add some garlic and ginger. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
The recipe was strictly average, as tasty as spring rolls typically are but nothing out of the ordinary. As for the person who questions the presence of MSG in a 300 year old recipe, you're right... mostly. Crystalline MSG was not invented until the early 20th century, when a Japanese researcher isolated it from konbu seaweed, but the compound is nothing but the sodium salt of glutamate, one of the most common naturally-occurring amino acids (sorry about the chemistry lecture). Soy, tomatoes, seaweed, and many other foods are rich in glutamates, too. So yes, you are right. Ms. Ling's ancestors did not whip out the Accent to make spring rolls, but the salt may have been a stand-in or substitute for another glutamate-containing ingredient. It's as anachronistic as using powdered citric acid as a substitute for lemon juice. I have a harder time believing that a person who lived 300 years ago would have used that much oil (a very, very expensive ingredient) to fry up something to go with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
These were really fun to make and super delicious! The recipe made so may that I was able to freeze the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IowaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Fantastic. Delicious. And such a fun project. I used the Chinese Pork Tenderloin recipe on this site. My husband doesn't love eggs, so we left out that part. I used the smallest cabbage I could find, 1 large carrot, and left out the mushrooms and MSG. This recipe only used 1/2 a package of wrappers, so I had to throw the rest away :( Also, the package said to use a mixture of flour & water to seal the egg rolls, so I did that instead of using the egg white. And 4 cups of oil isn't really necessary-just use enough to cook about 4 egg rolls at once. These were so tasty (especially with a homemade sweet & sour sauce on the side) and leftovers were easily re-crisped in the oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great basic recipe for eggrolls. We omitted the MSG and bamboo shoots and eggs due to allergies. We added a teaspoon of sesame oil and some pepper the eggroll seasoning. We used three tablespoons of flour and three tablespoons of water to make a paste to seal the eggrolls instead of eggs. Had some roasted shredded pork which really made this eggroll stand out. We made all different sizes and they were all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_one_picky_kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I never had the courage to try making egg rolls; yet, Asian food os my favorite! I took a chance and tried these. I had to WILL myself to do it, even though I'm an established cook. Bottom line: WONDERFUL! These egg rolls were so easy to make, they turned out restaurant quality, as promised. I made them exactly as the recipe said. The only other comment I would make it to make the entire batch and then freeze the leftovers. I made the mistake of trying to freeze them un-fried. Stupid move! Mendy, please give me more authentic Chinese recipes! Especially mooshu and Governor's Chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
THESE ARE WONDERFUL!!!! I was short on time so I had to make some adjustments, and it still turned out very good. First I didn't have the meat called for in the recipe. In the other reviews I saw several who used the Chinese Pork Tenderloin recipe. I didn't have time to cook a tenderloin so I took the ingredients from the Chinese Pork Tenderloin recipe and added them to raw sausage that I browned. Mmmmm... I also didn't have any msg. Other than those two changes I made the recipe as written. It won rave reviews by everyone. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States