Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These turned out so good! I forgot I was eating at home. A lot of steps, but very easy. I had a hard time finding egg rolls wraps, but finally found them in the produce isle. I fixed these with a sweet and sour chicken recipe I found on this site. It was a truly authentic meal that I will no longer be paying a fortune to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I used a bag of cabbage slaw (instead of dicing all the cabbage and it had carrots in it) and I used pickled ginger instead of fresh (because I had that handy)and it just turned out great. A friend and I whipped this dish up and we served it with hot Chinese mustard and sweet and sour sauce and soy sauce and it was FUN to make and delicious. One thing I could have done was cook everything until it was completely dry because the last couple of egg rolls were a bit too juicy (totally my fault, though). I forgot to get the bamboo shoots and my husband who's only ever eaten an egg roll at a restaurant actually MISSED them. So it would have been better if I had remembered to buy those and put them in as well. Thanks Mendy Ling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is FANTASTIC! My kids absolutely loved these. We opted to do all the chopping and cutting ourselves - great bonding experience & the kids felt proud. Thank you for sharing your family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was as authentic as I could possibly get at home. It would probably be a good idea to make a bunch of these up and freeze them. I have nothing negative to say about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ban_the_circus

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I made this recipe with my 1st grade class to celebrate Chinese New Year. It was easy and the kids really liked it. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These are by far the BEST egg rolls ever! My kids like it better than what we get at teh resterant! One change- I don't eat pork, so I substitute chicken with the bbq sauce from another recipe on this site- chinese dumplings with bbq pork. Great great great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These were so good. The only thing i didn't add was the msg, but overall these were awesome. I will absolutely make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were pretty good. The filling was a little bland so before filling them I added a little bit of powdered ginger. That helped a lot. We fried half of them and baked half of them sprayed with PAM. The fried ones were better and had the restaurant-style texture. The baked ones were good too just a little too crispy. However, since we are not big fans of frying food next time we will probably bake them all since they were still pretty good. These freeze well too. We did freeze some that were uncooked and baked them the other night. I would recommend seperating them with parchment or wax paper before freezing otherwise they will stick together. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My husband said it tasted too healthy... and it was deep fried! Too much cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very good tasting eggroll, I used a little bokchoy,along with the cabbage and some bean sprouts.I will make this again. Thank You for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States