Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by smkellum
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
absolutely delicious! Will make these again and again and again. I couldn't cook them fast enough before my family gobbled them up off the plate. 5 stars for sure. Highly recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smkellum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I thought these were great! Love the egg addition. I didn't have any pork or mushrooms. I also didn't have MSG, but I probably wouldn't have used it anyway. I replaced the items I didn't have with chicken, celery, and onion. I also put a little garlic powder in there, since other egg roll recipes were telling me to, and I thought it sounded like a good idea. You know, because garlic is awesome! (Italian chick over here who loves her garlic.... and Asian food..?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
OMG, these were so good!! I even made the BBQ pork myself to try to get the best flavour I could. These were so good and once the prep work was done, very fast and easy to make. They even heated up well the next day, not that there were many left over!! for the record, I did omit the MSG though as I don't feel well sometimes after eating it. I also substituted shiitake mushrooms the for dried wood ear mushrooms as I couldn't find any in my little town! I don't think that either of those things took away from the original recipe. Thank you, Mendy Ling, for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Wow. Just wow. I've been on a kick of trying recipes I never thought I would be able to do right, and this turned out incredible. I downsized the filling to cabbage, bean sprouts, and carrot (all I had in the house), cooked and in oil and soy sauce and fried as directed. Watch the video for making this recipe on the site -- it will INFINITELY make rolling your egg rolls (and possibly other dishes) much easier. My local restaurants charge $6-7 for an order of 4 egg rolls ... never again will I pay that, as this recipe was just as good or better, and at a fraction of the cost. My boyfriend and I intended to make it as an appetizer, and we just put away the entree and ate this as our whole meal. Can't wait to try it with other variations, next time with the mushrooms and green onions in the original recipe! Thanks Mendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MichelleQ
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I brushed the egg rolls with olive oil and baked them in a 425* oven for 15 minutes. I didn't use bamboo or mushrooms, used what I had. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This is the closest recipe to the one my Vietnamese mother in law has been making for fifty years. She even admitted that the egg is her secret ingredient but that she just scrambles the one egg she uses instead of three into the entire egg roll mixture instead of making the 'pancake' and cutting it up. Also, it's important to remove the stems from the mushrooms after rehydrating them as they are very hard to get soft enough and stay very woody. We also give everything a fine chop not just julienned, carrots shredded. When sealing the rolls, we usually just use cornstarch and water but the egg white worked well. We also use peanut oil for frying so I recommend that if allergies aren't an issue. These egg rolls were full of flavor and the only suggestion to the seasoning is a teaspoon of rice wine vinegar and a teaspoon of sesame oil in place of one teaspoon of soy sauce. Strain the oil and store in the fridge and it can be reused for the same purpose several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
there ok there not the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I had a good size cooked pork steak left over from last night, and cut it into matchsticks for this recipe. Other than that, I didn't change a thing. This is a delicious recipe with all the tastes and texture we want in a good egg roll. I think the time the mixture sits in the fridge to cool, really helps to meld those favors. We have tried many different recipes over the years, but this is the keeper now! It's very good!! Thanks so much for posting a family recipe, and allowing us to enjoy it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is an excellent recipe exactly as directed. These egg rolls were much tastier than any we have had in Asian restaurants. I did cheat a little and used the bagged Cole slaw mix instead of bok Choy, but did not change anything else. Will definitely keep all these ingredients on hand to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these as written except omitted the MSG. I liked the filling quite well. However, they were just so ooo oily! I know that frying = oil, but that said the oil was overpowering for my taste. I drained them on paper towels but maybe just not enough? Anyway I might try it again but bake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States