Authentic Chile con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe, for the cheese just use white American cheese, cut it in chunks and melt it with some milk, no need for the oil. If you like it hot use some jalapeno juice and diced jalapeno. A trick I learned to keep it creamy is to add a can of cream of mushroom soup, it may sound gross but you will never know it is in there. I whole can with about 2 lbs of cheese. You can add what ever you like, tomatoes, onion, chili peppers, or a can of rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
First let me say for those who tried this and found that the cheese separated and was oily - I think I figured out the problem there. First, heat the milk you use to thin the queso, don't use cold-from-the-fridge milk. I learned this last year making mashed potatoes and it makes a HUGE difference. I made this recipe twice in 48 hours - the first time I heated the milk and the cheese melted perfectly, the second time I used cold milk and the cheese immediately started to look grainy. Second - make sure you don't overheat it, this will also cause the cheese to break down and the fat/oil will rise to the surface. Unfortunately, I used cold milk AND overcooked the 2nd batch so it was a visual disaster, but everyone still loved it. If you have trouble finding Asadero cheese (I couldn't find any) you can use queso fresco but make sure it's not too crumbly. I got mine at a local Mexican market and it was a tad like string cheese so it melted into stretchy, creamy goodness with chiles in it. I also threw in a jalapeno with the other veggies for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! Similar to what I get at my fave Mexican restaurant. The only thing I didn't add was the tomatoes. Loved it! Thank you Melony. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I thought this was great! I only used what I had on hand, so I ended up using some shredded Mexican cheese which wasn't all white and shredded cheddar. I also didn't have that many chili peppers so used the banana peppers from the farmers market I recently wen to. I doubled the milk and cheese amounts as well as added sausage. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made this for my sons grad party and it was a hit !! I added 6 oz cheam cheese, 2 T. garlic and put in all queso cheese. It melted great. I did sub poblano chilies because I am a whip when it comes to hot. This is a keeper !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yum! I'm one of those who struggles with getting the cheese to blend into sauces (I'm sure it has something to do with realizing what a good melting temp should be...., at least, I'm pretty sure....). With this recipe, I had the same problem, but this time, I didn't give up. The flavor of the glumpy mess was too good to give up on, so I simply got out my hand blender wand and gave the mess a whirl. Sure enough, success! --- It wasn't quite as smooth as I would have wanted (again, probably a temp issue), but I simply warmed the smoothed out sauce slowly until it became much smoother. As per the suggestion of the user who used picante instead of veggies, we substituted salsa verde. Also, in the end, we decided that using extra milk and salsa verde made for a lower fat version of the same thing. At first, the change seemed a bad idea - after all, we were used to a lot more cheese clinging to our tortillas, but with a second thought, it seemed just fine - more a state of mind than anything, it seems - and from that point we simply enjoyed it. THEN IT OCCURRED TO US THAT, WITH EXTRA MILK, THIS CLEARLY WOULD MAKE A GREAT CHEESE SAUCE FOR ENCHILADAS...... SUPER YUM! Thanks for a great recipe, and a clue as to how to alter it into more great things..... Queso asadero rocks! This German didn't know just how much more meltable it is until now, but I'm sure glad to know now, finally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I must have done something wrong. I followed the directions but it came out stechy and turnd to cement as soon as it cooled. Also very bland even with hot ausce added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love this dip! I made it as is and it was delicious. For the shredded chicken, i took two frozen chicken breasts, and added them to a pot of water - to the water I added some cumin, corriander, garlic salt, salt and pepper, emeril seasoning, 3 dried red peppers, and chicken boullion powder. The chicken was so flavorful! This recipe was awesome as is, but the last time we made it we tried refried instead of black beans and that turned out delicious as well. Def will be making this one for yrs to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Mine never combined. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hokker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This recipe did not work for me. I ended up with a stringy glob of cheese in a pool of liquid. I cooked and stirred for some time trying to incorporate the liquid into the cheese but I was unsuccessful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States