Authentic Chile con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This is to be eaten as soon as it is ready. Don't think about slow cookers. This is what you get in American Mexican restaurants when you order queso most of the time. It will separate if left too long. I give it a 4 because it was exactly what I expected for a queso base. If you want to reduce the oil content, drain the oil from the veg. The cheese will release oil also which is the main reason to eat when originally combined. If you think it's bland, salt or spice. I found it needed more spice and a small amount of salt. But the recipe did say season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I had to add a lot more cheese and milk to make it look anything like queso. It never became creamy at all, but stayed stringy. I did not have fresh asadero so I had to use the pre-bagged stuff from Kroger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I am looking for a really good Chile con Queso recipe, and want to give this one a try for a Sunday Mexican-themed lunch. Has anyone ever tried to make this ahead of time? it will be difficult for me to make it just before we are going to eat. if anyone has input, I'm all ears!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe, for the cheese just use white American cheese, cut it in chunks and melt it with some milk, no need for the oil. If you like it hot use some jalapeno juice and diced jalapeno. A trick I learned to keep it creamy is to add a can of cream of mushroom soup, it may sound gross but you will never know it is in there. I whole can with about 2 lbs of cheese. You can add what ever you like, tomatoes, onion, chili peppers, or a can of rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
First let me say for those who tried this and found that the cheese separated and was oily - I think I figured out the problem there. First, heat the milk you use to thin the queso, don't use cold-from-the-fridge milk. I learned this last year making mashed potatoes and it makes a HUGE difference. I made this recipe twice in 48 hours - the first time I heated the milk and the cheese melted perfectly, the second time I used cold milk and the cheese immediately started to look grainy. Second - make sure you don't overheat it, this will also cause the cheese to break down and the fat/oil will rise to the surface. Unfortunately, I used cold milk AND overcooked the 2nd batch so it was a visual disaster, but everyone still loved it. If you have trouble finding Asadero cheese (I couldn't find any) you can use queso fresco but make sure it's not too crumbly. I got mine at a local Mexican market and it was a tad like string cheese so it melted into stretchy, creamy goodness with chiles in it. I also threw in a jalapeno with the other veggies for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! Similar to what I get at my fave Mexican restaurant. The only thing I didn't add was the tomatoes. Loved it! Thank you Melony. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I thought this was great! I only used what I had on hand, so I ended up using some shredded Mexican cheese which wasn't all white and shredded cheddar. I also didn't have that many chili peppers so used the banana peppers from the farmers market I recently wen to. I doubled the milk and cheese amounts as well as added sausage. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made this for my sons grad party and it was a hit !! I added 6 oz cheam cheese, 2 T. garlic and put in all queso cheese. It melted great. I did sub poblano chilies because I am a whip when it comes to hot. This is a keeper !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yum! I'm one of those who struggles with getting the cheese to blend into sauces (I'm sure it has something to do with realizing what a good melting temp should be...., at least, I'm pretty sure....). With this recipe, I had the same problem, but this time, I didn't give up. The flavor of the glumpy mess was too good to give up on, so I simply got out my hand blender wand and gave the mess a whirl. Sure enough, success! --- It wasn't quite as smooth as I would have wanted (again, probably a temp issue), but I simply warmed the smoothed out sauce slowly until it became much smoother. As per the suggestion of the user who used picante instead of veggies, we substituted salsa verde. Also, in the end, we decided that using extra milk and salsa verde made for a lower fat version of the same thing. At first, the change seemed a bad idea - after all, we were used to a lot more cheese clinging to our tortillas, but with a second thought, it seemed just fine - more a state of mind than anything, it seems - and from that point we simply enjoyed it. THEN IT OCCURRED TO US THAT, WITH EXTRA MILK, THIS CLEARLY WOULD MAKE A GREAT CHEESE SAUCE FOR ENCHILADAS...... SUPER YUM! Thanks for a great recipe, and a clue as to how to alter it into more great things..... Queso asadero rocks! This German didn't know just how much more meltable it is until now, but I'm sure glad to know now, finally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I must have done something wrong. I followed the directions but it came out stechy and turnd to cement as soon as it cooled. Also very bland even with hot ausce added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States