Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by riesendw
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I found this recipe this past Tuesday evening and because of my busy schedule, I knew I was going to have to wait until this weekend to make it. My mouth has been watering all week just thinking about it. Well let me just say that it was WELL worth the wait.... served over Jasmine rice and I absolutely LOVED it! I made a double batch to have plenty to eat thru the weekend and maybe for lunch at work next week. I made a couple of changes from the written instructions, and it came out just fine. 1) I wasn't too sure about the idea of baking yogurt-covered chicken, plus I don't trust the oven in my apartment, so I decided I'd cook them by simmering them with the rest of the ingredients. I cut the chicken into small cubes (about sugar cube size), rather than strips to help them cook more quickly. I marinated them as directed, then added them (including all of the yogurt marinade) where directed to in the instructions. Simmered everything for about 15-20 minutes to make sure everything was cooked. The chicken stayed extremely tender since I didn't give it a chance to dry out in the oven. 2) I realized as I was opening the tomato paste that I bought the one with italian spices in it...sigh... So I scrapped the paste and went with a can of tomato sauce instead, and just left out the water the recipe calls for. 3) Added an extra 1/4 cup of cream to make the sauce go a little further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riesendw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Mmmmmmmm.......So yummy!! I followed the recipe for the most part and it was delicious! I only marinated the chicken for about 30 minutes and it was so good I started eating it before I added it to the sauce. Sorry about the bad photo, it smelled so good I started to eat before I remembered to photograph it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlejessmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was delicious! The only thing I changed was to use some bird's eye chilis from our garden instead of green chilis. Good flavors and spice level. Ate with some naan, and everything was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Amazing, restaurant quality Tikka Masala. Makes an impressive dish with complex, aromatic flavors that blend together nicely. A bit time consuming to prepare but well worth the effort. For the marinade, used non-fat Greek plain yogurt, and marinated the chicken for four hours instead of two. For the remainder of the recipe, subbed ground cumin since didn’t have cumin seeds, 2 serrano peppers w/ seeds for green chile peppers, 1/4 cup chicken broth for water, and 1/2 cup coconut milk for heavy whipping cream. The main caution for achieving a successful outcome is to consider the heat tolerance for whoever is eating this dish. Green chile (a/k/a Anaheim chile, California Green) peppers range from mild and sweet to moderate hot. On the Scoville Heat Index, a jalapeno pepper can easily exceed 2X the value of a green chile, and a serrano pepper can easily exceed 4X its value; removing the seeds & ribs will also reduce the heat (if not sure, reserve these and add in later if desiring more heat or add some cayenne pepper to taste). For folks who like Indian cuisine, this will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I love chicken tikka masala. Unfortunately, I don't live near any good Indian restaurants, so my fiancé and I resort to buying the simmer sauces if we are desperate for a taste of Indian and don't feel like driving to a decent Indian place. I found this recipe and after reading these reviews, I decided to take a chance and make this. I had all the spices on hand even though they were already ground. I just slightly decreased the amount of spice where fresh was called for, such as ginger and cumin seeds. Everything else I used was fresh. Because I already had so many dry, ground spices, I decided to look up an easy recipe for garam masala too (also on this website; recipe by zen sojourner). I used a lot of the tips provided by other reviewers, such as using nonfat Greek yogurt, light coconut milk, and the dry spices that I already had on hand and wanted to use up. I marinated the chicken for 4-5 hours, and baked according to the directions. After I turned off the oven, I left in for 30 min. After I finished cooking the tomatoes, I followed the rest of the recipe. My fiancé and I got distracted and left the pot on a low simmer for the next hour. I was worried that we might have overlooked it. The sauce was thick, which I didn't mind as I don't like watery sauces. It tasted delicious. My fiancé said it was the best curry he's ever had. It might not taste like the real thing to some one who is Indian, but we loved it and will be sure to make again -so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Delicious! My boyfriend's parents are from India, he said it tasted like his Mom's cooking. I added an extra green chile because we like it spicy. Watch the video here on AllRecipes about Indian style Basmati rice. First time I got rice to come out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe!!!! I didn't have cumin seeds so I used ground cumin. I didn't have fresh ginger either so I used ground instead. The last substitution I made was the chiles and roma tomato. I used a can of dice tomatoes with green chiles. I loved this and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The recipe was amazing. But a little spicy for some of my guests. Used coconut milk instead of heavy whipping cream, and only marinated the chicken for an hour instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. (I didn't have whipping cream so I substituted with greek yogurt and it made the final result slightly too tangy, so next time I'll buy the cream in advance.) Very time-consuming, like most Indian food, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I follwed this recipe exactly and it was delicious! It will be something I regularly make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States