Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was absolutely AMAZING!!! The best Indian food I've been able to make at home. I didn't have fresh ginger so used dried and did not use cilantro (don't like it). I used only 1 serano pepper without the seeds or insides and that was enough "kick" for me (mild).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I only used one of the green chilies. I was nervous it would be too spicy for my kids. It was perfect! Best I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I didn't have cumin seeds or turmeric so used ground cumin and dry mustard. Also for time-sake I used canned diced tomatoes and a small can of diced green chiles. I served it over brown rice. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Many thanks to the person who submitted this recipe! It is easy and fun to make and so, so delicious. I recently bought a chicken curry dish at a local Indian restaurant in down town Berkeley but I thought what I got did not even compare to this dish. It is a restaurant quality recipe (and I have eaten at about a million Indian restaurants over the years). Modifications: Very spicy food gives me terrible heartburn so I used one-half a jalapeno instead of 2 green chile peppers. This was perfect for a mild-spicy range (as in: Mmm...that has a little bit of kick but doesn't burn). In addition, I added the juice of half a lemon to the chicken towards the end to give it a tiny bit of zing and just a dash of depth to the flavor. I felt it needed either a nutty or citrus-y undertone. It goes wonderfully with basmati rice mixed with almonds (the nuts are a great addition) and yellow raisins and cilantro or garlic stuffed Naan and Raita. I made it twice, once with basmati rice, once with restaurant-purchased stuffed Naan. This recipe is first rate--a genuine keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My son has lives in India and said it was very good. Instead of chicken we use very firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I love chicken tikka masala. Unfortunately, I don't live near any good Indian restaurants, so my fiancé and I resort to buying the simmer sauces if we are desperate for a taste of Indian and don't feel like driving to a decent Indian place. I found this recipe and after reading these reviews, I decided to take a chance and make this. I had all the spices on hand even though they were already ground. I just slightly decreased the amount of spice where fresh was called for, such as ginger and cumin seeds. Everything else I used was fresh. Because I already had so many dry, ground spices, I decided to look up an easy recipe for garam masala too (also on this website; recipe by zen sojourner). I used a lot of the tips provided by other reviewers, such as using nonfat Greek yogurt, light coconut milk, and the dry spices that I already had on hand and wanted to use up. I marinated the chicken for 4-5 hours, and baked according to the directions. After I turned off the oven, I left in for 30 min. After I finished cooking the tomatoes, I followed the rest of the recipe. My fiancé and I got distracted and left the pot on a low simmer for the next hour. I was worried that we might have overlooked it. The sauce was thick, which I didn't mind as I don't like watery sauces. It tasted delicious. My fiancé said it was the best curry he's ever had. It might not taste like the real thing to some one who is Indian, but we loved it and will be sure to make again -so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pomeroy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Tons of flavor, tons of spice and great with chicken and pork. I used pork chops, and they ended out a little tough, but they may have been freezer burned. Also didn't have time to marinade for 2 hours, so I think it only marinated 45 minutes, but still super tasty. Served with couscous, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe!!!! I didn't have cumin seeds so I used ground cumin. I didn't have fresh ginger either so I used ground instead. The last substitution I made was the chiles and roma tomato. I used a can of dice tomatoes with green chiles. I loved this and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The recipe was amazing. But a little spicy for some of my guests. Used coconut milk instead of heavy whipping cream, and only marinated the chicken for an hour instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States