Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
It is just like a simple chicken curry, nothing special about this dish. I will never make it again, there isn't anything taste like tikka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was perfect! Added extra spices than stated and substituted coconut milk for cream and added chicken stock with water. So easy to make. Everyone said it was delicious so will definitely be making again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is AMAZING. There was a little too much black pepper for me so next time I'll cut it down. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
When I finished cooking it, it was too sweet, and lacked any "kick" at all. I had followed the directions exactly (with the exception of accidentally using 3/4 cup tomato paste instead of 1/2 cup. I seeded the peppers before using too. I don't know whether it was the extra tomato paste, perhaps using onions that were sweeter than they should have been (yellow instead of white), or whether this recipe comes out sweetish. This morning, I went back and added more cumin, cayenne, ginger, and turmeric. Now it tastes a lot better, has a bit of a bite, and the sweetness is dampened to an acceptable level. I'm up in the air as to wether I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Have made this dish many times and this really is a more authentic taste, well liked in my house even by the little ones. Added to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I always add more spice into the mix but EVERYBODY loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Have made it several times. Don't substitute anything. The second time I realized I didn't have tomato paste or chili peppers so I tried to improvise. Still good but very noticeable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariap430

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mehul
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This turned out to be a very good recipe. The flavors were very balanced without one particular flavor overpowering the dish. I followed the recipe fairly closely, with just a couple of variations. I used half-and-half in place of the heavy cream, and in turn it turned out just a bit drier than if I had used the heavy cream. Also, I used the ground cumin and ginger as that is what I had around the house. I accidentally picked up a can of tomato sauce instead of paste at the grocery and realized it while things were already cooking, so I just added an 8 oz can of the tomato sauce instead of the paste and omitted the extra water. Lastly, I used one jalapeno pepper with seeds removed in place of the 2 green chiles, just to temper the spice a bit. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
While this isn't quite what I'm used to (compared to the local Indian restaurants in my town), it is very good! The way I would describe it is a mix between what you'll find at an Indian restaurant and what you can make at home when purchasing Tikka Masalla paste (calls for browning onions, adding paste, tomatoes, water, and cooked chicken). I really appreciated the variety of spices that are in this particular version. As delicious as this dish is at my local Indian restaurants, I think they may cheap out on some of the spices and other ingredients. Their dishes seem to be creamier, sweeter, with less spice and less pronounced tomato and onion. In any case, I prefer a saucier (and sweeter) dish, so I added 1/2 cup of coconut milk to the recipe. I also reduced the heat a bit by eliminating one of the peppers (I used Serrano). It was still too spicy for the kids, so next time, I'll eliminate the cayenne from the chicken and see if that's the happy medium. Also, basmati rice is a MUST. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I follwed this recipe exactly and it was delicious! It will be something I regularly make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States