Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
A very amazing recipe Instead of baking the chiken I cooked it on a grill i definitely recommend this recipe very much Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I have to say I am impressed. I will make this one again. I tried to follow the recipe as best I could but I had to use what I had which was Cilantro vs coriander, half and half instead of whipping cream and i had to reduce tomatoes down to make tomato paste. The taste was good but next time I think I will double the sauce (It wasn't saucy like what you get at an Indian restaurant), add a good bit more salt, and cut out the chillies. The dish turned out very spicy and although I can handle spicy and I ate it my mouth was burning throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I tried this with canned diced tomatoes, grilling the meat and lactose-free milk in place of cream and it turned out great. I also put the sauce in a blender. It looked like I ordered take-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have made this dish 4 times now and it is THE BEST version I have ever tasted. Great recipe my friend. Can't fault it. I like to add extra red chilli so it makes your lips tingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Amazing! I added a cup of water to make more sauce,3/4 of an onion instead a whole large onion and finished the dish with a touch of lemon and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I cheated with this recipe as I had some pre-cooked chicken I just threw in. To compensate I added a couple tablespoons of yogurt to the final mixture. We liked this version of Tikka Masala, not as much as our local restaurant. I only had ground cumin and it was just overwhelming (to my tastes) so I definitely would cut it down next time. In addition, I used evaporated milk instead of cream and it took the whole can to make an actual sauce. The restaurant version is much sweeter, so if I try again I may add some sugar or something to the sauce. But for my first try at Indian everyone was pretty pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I don't read recipes carefully enough before trying them, so only marinated for an hour. I also added twice as much cream as it was very dry, only heated the cumin seeds for about a minute or else they would have burned, only used 1 pepper for medium-mild heat, and used fake soy-based chicken, and everything came out phenomenal. Beautiful flavors, and your house will smell like an Indian restaurant. This one's definitely a keeper, best recipe I've tried in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abby
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
My 15 year daughter just made this a little while ago and I must say it was great. The easy to follow recipe made it all easy for her to do on her own. I was truly amazed with the outcome of the whole dish. She used jalapeño chilli for extra heat. Garnished with cilantro and served with basmati boiled rice and fresh naan from a local Pakistani resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Marie
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight since I live quite a ways from the nearest indian place now... I followed the recipe pretty close.. Only thing I changed was added some extra peppers. After it was done I taste tested it and wasn't a huge fan of the flavor so I doctored it up with some more spices.. Ate it with basmati rice and garlic naan. It was OKAY, maybe I'm just an Indian food snob. But I've had MUCH better. That being said it wasn't bad for something to whip up at home... I think I'd try a different recipe next time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
While it was a good try and we were very hopeful, this turned out to be too much spicy and not enough flavor. It's the closest we've come yet to authentic tikka masala, but not close enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States