Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I don't read recipes carefully enough before trying them, so only marinated for an hour. I also added twice as much cream as it was very dry, only heated the cumin seeds for about a minute or else they would have burned, only used 1 pepper for medium-mild heat, and used fake soy-based chicken, and everything came out phenomenal. Beautiful flavors, and your house will smell like an Indian restaurant. This one's definitely a keeper, best recipe I've tried in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abby
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
My 15 year daughter just made this a little while ago and I must say it was great. The easy to follow recipe made it all easy for her to do on her own. I was truly amazed with the outcome of the whole dish. She used jalapeño chilli for extra heat. Garnished with cilantro and served with basmati boiled rice and fresh naan from a local Pakistani resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe is excellent, but being afraid of putting the yogurt-marinated chicken pieces (I cut my chicken into 1" chunks instead of strips) into a 450 degree oven, I chose to sauté them in a little oil until they were no longer pink (about 10 min.) and kept them in a warming oven until I was ready to re-introduce them to the same pan with the sauce once it was done. I didn't change anything else except for marinating the chicken for about 3 hours instead of 2. I served the tikka masala with basmati rice, homemade cilantro-mint chutney and store-bought naan. I can see myself making this again and again. Thank you, A.R., for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Angie Marie
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight since I live quite a ways from the nearest indian place now... I followed the recipe pretty close.. Only thing I changed was added some extra peppers. After it was done I taste tested it and wasn't a huge fan of the flavor so I doctored it up with some more spices.. Ate it with basmati rice and garlic naan. It was OKAY, maybe I'm just an Indian food snob. But I've had MUCH better. That being said it wasn't bad for something to whip up at home... I think I'd try a different recipe next time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
While it was a good try and we were very hopeful, this turned out to be too much spicy and not enough flavor. It's the closest we've come yet to authentic tikka masala, but not close enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I'd make it without the salt in the sauce next time and then salt to taste at the table. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Pack Repsher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The flavor and spice level of this dish is spot on! (Coming from someone with Indian family members) I suggest either using tomato sauce or blending the diced tomatoes before cooking. I wasn't able to get the tomato chunks to stew down completely and was using a potato masher to hasten the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was really good... I used coconut milk instead of cream and added a bit more than called for. I am cooking at a high altitude and things dry out. Tastes pretty close to Indian restaurant dish. Next time I'll add a bit more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This was my first attempt at Indian food and the recipe was easy to follow and the end result was delicious! I don't know if I did something wrong but the sauce was more of a paste when I was done. Possibly use less tomato paste next time I cook this. Delicious favors though. The wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I added more spice and jalepenos for a kick, but stuck to the recipe for the most part. It was perfection and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States