Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I always add more spice into the mix but EVERYBODY loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Have made it several times. Don't substitute anything. The second time I realized I didn't have tomato paste or chili peppers so I tried to improvise. Still good but very noticeable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mehul
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This turned out to be a very good recipe. The flavors were very balanced without one particular flavor overpowering the dish. I followed the recipe fairly closely, with just a couple of variations. I used half-and-half in place of the heavy cream, and in turn it turned out just a bit drier than if I had used the heavy cream. Also, I used the ground cumin and ginger as that is what I had around the house. I accidentally picked up a can of tomato sauce instead of paste at the grocery and realized it while things were already cooking, so I just added an 8 oz can of the tomato sauce instead of the paste and omitted the extra water. Lastly, I used one jalapeno pepper with seeds removed in place of the 2 green chiles, just to temper the spice a bit. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
While this isn't quite what I'm used to (compared to the local Indian restaurants in my town), it is very good! The way I would describe it is a mix between what you'll find at an Indian restaurant and what you can make at home when purchasing Tikka Masalla paste (calls for browning onions, adding paste, tomatoes, water, and cooked chicken). I really appreciated the variety of spices that are in this particular version. As delicious as this dish is at my local Indian restaurants, I think they may cheap out on some of the spices and other ingredients. Their dishes seem to be creamier, sweeter, with less spice and less pronounced tomato and onion. In any case, I prefer a saucier (and sweeter) dish, so I added 1/2 cup of coconut milk to the recipe. I also reduced the heat a bit by eliminating one of the peppers (I used Serrano). It was still too spicy for the kids, so next time, I'll eliminate the cayenne from the chicken and see if that's the happy medium. Also, basmati rice is a MUST. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I follwed this recipe exactly and it was delicious! It will be something I regularly make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This recipe is awesome. A definite keeper in my kitchen. After returning from India and craving the food, this recipe provided the most authentic experience I could find. I only had Greek yogurt, but appreciated the taste. I also experimented with a vegetarian version and found that either tofu or paneer could be substituted for chicken. Dynamite recipe, but make sure to follow it with all the spices for the most authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This recipe was very good! There's a great amount of spice in this dish. I go back and forth between adding the peppers or not for my spice level conscious friends. It may have a long list of ingredients, but it is very easy to make. This recipe is also a good base to switch it up with paneer or shrimp- instead of chicken. Top this over some lentils or rice if you choose and you won't be disappointed! The only drawback is waiting to cook and eat it while the chicken is marinating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Amazing. Followed recipe direction closely. Turned out delicious. Great with naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Good eats!!! However I have been unable to locate the garam masala spice... it still tasted amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was WOW-tastic and easy! Didn't have garam masala so I made my own from a recipe on this site, look up "Easy Garam Masala". I added green and red onions to the mix, and 1/4 cup coconut milk. The coconut milk gives it a slightly sweet hint - highly recommended! My supermarket ran out of fresh ginger so I used the pink stuff that comes with sushi which was totally fine. Also used 1/2 can of diced green chiles instead of fresh. My boyfriend said it was better than any Chicken Tikka Masala he's had from a restaurant and he lived in England for 3 years. This is a definite keeper... excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States