Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by justlongy
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Amazing recipe! Delicious, it is pretty spicy, so I tone it down a little, mainly for my wife, but ahh magnifique!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Yummy! Followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alina Kravchenko (MISSalina)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
i made a lot of substitutions which is why I'm giving this recipe 4 stars as i didnt get to taste this recipe for what it is. i used to work in an Afghani restaurant so i made it more to that taste than Indian style which i find overly curried and spicy. i really was craving this dish so i had to make dew with what i had at hand. i marinated the chicken in yogurt with smoked paprika, cumin, salt, pepper and garlic powder for 2 hours. then i baked it in my conventional oven for about 20min. i sauteed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was very authentic chicken tike masala. My husband loved it! I will definitely make this again. We spent almost 7 years in India and Pakistan and this was as good as any we had there. Next time I will make some black dal and see if I can find some naan bread. It was so flavorful and I love the marinade!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aaron
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Very good recipe. The only thing I would do differently is to make my own garam masala mixture from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Chicken Tikka Masala isn't an Indian dish, but was "invented" in England. If you go to India, they don't even have "curry" dishes. That was all developed in England. Chicken Tikka Masala came from the English liking gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I have to agree with the other reviewers saying it tasted "off". It was much too tomato flavoured for a proper tikka massala. I won't be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I haven't tried this yet but plan to. What kind of green chiles are supposed to be used? Raw jalapenos or serranos, or canned green anaheim chiles or something else? There are many kinds of green chiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was very very good, however, I made a couple modifications. I substituted coconut milk for the heavy cream and added more than called for. I substituted one can of diced tomatoes with green chilis for the fresh Roma tomatoes and green chilis. Also the sauce tasted a little too tangy (tomatoey) to me so I added a little bit of sugar to my sauce and it was really good. Slightly sweet, just like my local Indian restaurant makes it. Served with basmati rice and homemade naan. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
A very amazing recipe Instead of baking the chiken I cooked it on a grill i definitely recommend this recipe very much Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States