Authentic Bangladeshi Beef Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I followed this recipe just as written, except that at the point when it says to simmer the beef with the spicy paste mixture, I put these elements into a slow cooker for 4 hours. The recipe turned out great -- fragrant and delicious. I served over Jasmati rice, with a light dusting of salt as a finish. Next time, I will up the spice level (perhaps by adding more cayenne pepper and minced hot peppers). Also, I may make the spicy paste mixture a day in advance, so that the beef can marinade in it overnight before going into the slow cooker (the lovely flavor of the spicy paste mixture did not quite penetrate each piece of beef, even after cooked slowly for a long time). Thanks to the author for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I was looking for a non-traditional crock-pot recipe for stew beef and this fit the bill. With the crock-pot I added everything but the oil and powdered spices right away. I didn't have hot peppers or garlic on hand so instead used green chili paste and used beef broth instead of water. Another reviewer added the powdered spices (cooked in the oil) about 1-2 hours before it was done and I did the same. I'm really pleased with how this came out and it was super easy to prepare. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Needs salt and more cooking time, mine took about 3 hours until it was tender. Overall it was very easy to make but I don't know if I will make this again. It wasn't bad but there are better curry recipes on this site that taste better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this and loved it! I added peas and potatoes to make a complete meal and omitted the rice. Excellent! And added 4 cloves of garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
loved the recipe! Mixed the spices together the night before just to save time. Didn't have ginger pasted used 1tsp powdered ginger instead,and 1/2 tsp ground corriander instead of cardimum. My family loves curry-this is a HUGE hit in our house. We added fresh cilantro on top, and ate with Naan. Can also mix everything in a baggie and freeze for the slow-cooker. Going to give it to a girl friend like that when she has her baby so all she has to do is dump it in the crock pot on high for an extra hour. Love the way my house smells while its cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Spicy stuff! I used serrano chiles and did not de-seed them. This is different from the tomato-based curries and the coconut-based curries for sure. Tasty but I think I am more used to the other kinds of curries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
great dinner! made this on the weekend and it was a hit! I used a more tender cut of beef so I didn't have to cook as long. I also added a half can of coconut milk as I like more sauce with my curries. Didn't have the chilis so I used some jalapenos (not a lot), and I used 1/3 tsp of cayenne. I found it flavourful but not too too spicy (I have one child who doesn't like super hot food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amran Hajiomar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My husband is Bengali and loved this! He is an excellent cook and said my beef curry is better than his! I did use the pressure cooker for 50 minutes. The meat was SO tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Delish!! I used pork instead... Cooking time was not long at all... I don't cook beef, so that could take the recommended time. Next time I will add tomato, perhaps cauliflower, and cilantro! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States