Authentic Arawak Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Loved it! used two Habanero peppers (deseeded) and 1/2 cup of full flavored red wine. This sauce has very complex flavors. Very rich - don't skip the wine. I put a rack of ribs in the slow cooker with this sauce for six hours. The bones were pulled out and it wound up looking like pulled pork. MMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMM Gooood! Served over brown rice, in a burrito, over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Kind of an odd flavor. we did not love it. won't do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Made this sauce to use as a marinade for chicken and it was great. I didn't use the scotch bonnet (just way too hot) but used chipotle instead. It was wonderful grilled. Next time we make this with poblanoes or similar. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is ultra-flexible, won't fall apart if few ingredients are missing or replaced. My family absolutely love this one and have been using the Arawak "secret" ever since I discovered it over 5 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a seriously wonderful butt kicking BBQ sauce. The only criticism I have of the recipe is the instruction to "Discard any remaining sauce." Do Not Do That!!! Instead after marinating the meat or fish, boil the sauce you used to marinade and it will reduce nicely to a spicy kind of sticky BBQ sauce which freezes just fine. BTW the recipe makes enough for at least 2 meals if you're cooking for 2 so split it in half and freeze the rest. Works great on pork tenderloins and probably anything else you can think of. The London Broil idea was fantastic! We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Perfect as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was good! Everyone at the bbq liked it. I marinated chicken wings and legs in this overnight. Next time I think I would up the soy sauce. I would like to try this on a pork tenderloin. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
We lived in Trinidad for 3 years. It was nice to have a recipe that reminded us of there. It was very good and extremely tasty! Next time I'll try cooking it in the oven, as I'm not that good on the grill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I found this recipe two years ago and have used it more than 10 times for chicken because my family loved it and when I'm BBQing chicken my dad always ask me if I used 'the Arawak marinade.' Arawak BBQ sauce is also very forgiving marinade~ once this summer I added diet 7-up soda because nobody would drink it and there was only 1 cup left. The chicken still tasted good! The combination of spices and other ingredients gave chicken slightly sweet, light tang, mouth-watering taste with marvelous aroma! The aroma is almost thearptic. *Breath in, Breath out* :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States