Authentic Arawak Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wow. Used this marinade on steelhead trout. So so good. Did not take another reviewers advice and boil leftover marinade for sauce, but wish I had. We used a gas grill smoker box. Amazing. I substituted red onion for green and scallion, and habanero peppers. Not as hot as I expected. Definitely doing the sauce next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Loved it! used two Habanero peppers (deseeded) and 1/2 cup of full flavored red wine. This sauce has very complex flavors. Very rich - don't skip the wine. I put a rack of ribs in the slow cooker with this sauce for six hours. The bones were pulled out and it wound up looking like pulled pork. MMMMMMMMMMMMM MMMMMMMMM Gooood! Served over brown rice, in a burrito, over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Kind of an odd flavor. we did not love it. won't do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Made this sauce to use as a marinade for chicken and it was great. I didn't use the scotch bonnet (just way too hot) but used chipotle instead. It was wonderful grilled. Next time we make this with poblanoes or similar. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is ultra-flexible, won't fall apart if few ingredients are missing or replaced. My family absolutely love this one and have been using the Arawak "secret" ever since I discovered it over 5 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a seriously wonderful butt kicking BBQ sauce. The only criticism I have of the recipe is the instruction to "Discard any remaining sauce." Do Not Do That!!! Instead after marinating the meat or fish, boil the sauce you used to marinade and it will reduce nicely to a spicy kind of sticky BBQ sauce which freezes just fine. BTW the recipe makes enough for at least 2 meals if you're cooking for 2 so split it in half and freeze the rest. Works great on pork tenderloins and probably anything else you can think of. The London Broil idea was fantastic! We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Perfect as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This was good! Everyone at the bbq liked it. I marinated chicken wings and legs in this overnight. Next time I think I would up the soy sauce. I would like to try this on a pork tenderloin. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
We lived in Trinidad for 3 years. It was nice to have a recipe that reminded us of there. It was very good and extremely tasty! Next time I'll try cooking it in the oven, as I'm not that good on the grill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States