Austrian Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
these cookies are awesome. i found the recipe on this site 2 weeks ago and i've had to make them three times. i'll be making them again for the family christmas party this weekend. i only gave it 4 stars cuz they're a bit time consuming and messy (with all the icing sugar) but well worth it.just a quick note to add, i dredged them 4 or 5 at a time when they were still hot. this melts the icing sugar a bit and makes them a little sticky. i then dredge them again when warm. this ensures a generous coating of icing sugar that looks spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
love, love these tea cakes, i use regular sugar,my family and friend love them also, she ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I had 2 cups of leftover peanuts so I subsituted them, finely chopped, for the hazelnuts. The cookies came out great; they had a different flavor but were still just as rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great cookies! I made only a half batch, and I had to use a bit of extra butter to get them to stick. Might be because I used crushed almonds instead of ground. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Turned out really nice... it's a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made these, they are to die for. I gave it 5 stars and would have gave them a 6 if possible. Great recipe Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Loved it remembered making them when I was younger. But I cut the nuts in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Collbran, Colorado, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were really good and my family really liked them as a light Christmas cookie. I do find fault with the directions, which is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. It says to preheat the oven, then it says to chill the dough for an hr. That's an awful long time for an oven to be on. Luckily, I caught that before making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Great tasting and easy to make! Will make them as family favorites for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Delicious! I would make it again (and probably will).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States