Austrian Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I tested this recipe 4 months ago and now I am forced to fix this pancake for my family weekly! It is so easy, much easier than conventional pancakes since it's all done in the cast iron skillet. And it's even BETTER the next day. I always serve it with frozen blueberries warmed in syrup. It is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is a delicious recipe, though we use milk instead of cream. Try topping with powdered sugar and lemon instead of maple syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
it is easy and my kids love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
We just love this, can easily be taken to others for brunch. Lou and I look forward to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Mine didn't puff in the middle, but did nicely around the edges and uniformly in the middle. This recipe is AWESOME. My kids wolfed it down (they're 2 and 3). Definitely great in a cast iron skillet! UPDATE: I've made this recipe several times now and have found it works well with just milk (2 c. milk, no cream) and especially with canned milk. It's amazing, even in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This was a hit with my day care kids, and a great source of protein. Best of all it was soooo easy. I think this would be great for my family because you can all be served at the same time. And there does not have to be a poor sole at the frying pan flipping pancakes. I didn't have cream so used milk and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Holy moly, what a great recipe!! I really liked this dish! It was even better the next day, after it got all happy happy while wrapped up in the fridge. Jolly good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
We ate this pancake with maple syrup, and it was great. It is so plain, however, that it can be dressed up any way you like. We will consider using strawberries and cream, peaches with sour cream and nutmeg, or jam or marmelade with sour cream or clotted cream. This is definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
wow awesome bread. a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This is like one, huge popover! Although mine didn't rise in the middle. Only the outsides did. I will try 1/2 as much butter next time because it was "floating" in the middle. Also, I used sea salt instead of table salt, I don't know if that would make a difference? Still, it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States