Austrian Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
AWESOME. Bf said it was the best meal I've ever made him. I'm with the other reviewers - the bechamel sauce mentioned in other reviews is a must! It completely makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Yum! Super simple - I used all heavy cream and whole wheat (no marg since with that much fat, it didn't have any problem sticking). Turned out just fiiine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
the best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I think we messed up by using bread flour and whipping cream.It looked different.It still tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
HMMM, I'm not sure but maybe I did something wrong. I thought it was alright but my son who does not like eggs did not care for it. It had a strong egg taste. It also did not look anything like the picture. Mine was very smooth on the surface. I had baked it double the time and it came out the consistency of custard in the middle and with the edges a little thicker. After rereading the recipe I did find I did not follow the instructions,I mixed the liquids together first then poured the flour mix into it rather than the other way around. I will definitely have to try this again So I can give it a better rating, because I just can't stand screwing up a recipe and I don't think it's a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
My husband really liked this, but I didn't. I think I prefer a more traditional, fluffy-on-the-inside pancake. I took other reviewers' suggestions and made the Buttermilk Sauce from the "German Pancake with Buttermilk Sauce" recipe to go with this, and while that was outstanding, I will not make this particular pancake again. I will keep searching for a 1-pan pancake, but thanks for the experience--I had not cooked a pancake in quite that method before :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Mine didn't puff in the middle, but did nicely around the edges and uniformly in the middle. This recipe is AWESOME. My kids wolfed it down (they're 2 and 3). Definitely great in a cast iron skillet! UPDATE: I've made this recipe several times now and have found it works well with just milk (2 c. milk, no cream) and especially with canned milk. It's amazing, even in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Pretty close to being a Yorkshire Pudding. Probably lends itself more to being accompanied by something savoury rather than something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
We just love this, can easily be taken to others for brunch. Lou and I look forward to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I went to a fancy inn to have breakfast and had this type of pancake this one was not even close to the one I had but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Harrison, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States