Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
One batch of these cookies and my husband was hovering in the kitchen eating them before I could get them off the cookie sheet!! A couple of tips about the dough -- let it warm up a little more and it should not be so crumbly. When you cream together the sugar, butter and egg yolk, it has to be creamy or it will be crumbly (as with any recipe). If it is still too crumbly, put a small bowl of milk out while you roll, dip your fingers in the milk and roll the balls. That will moisten it a bit. KUDOS on this recipe -- I'm off to make a few hundred more -- while my husband is at work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My grandmother made a cookie just like this when I was a child only she rolled them in chopped walnuts, so I did the same. After reading about other people's trouble with the dough, I was apprehensive. But, if you really cream the butter and sugar and egg until it becomes light and you add the flour mixture slowly, maybe 13 cup at a time waiting until it is integrated, the dough comes out much smoother and easier to work with. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
We loved these cookies! I had to make a second batch the very next day. The rich buttery flavor is addictive and they just disappeared off the plate. To solve the crumble factor mentioned before, I found that chilling the dough for 2 hours was too long and if you just chill it until it forms a ball without sticking to your hand they are very, very easy to make and roll in the almonds. The almonds should be chopped fairly finely. I used a blender and finished them off by hand. Really quick to put together when the dough isn't too cold. To fill the thumbprint, stir your jam and put into a small baggie. Cut a corner of the baggie off and use as a pastry bag. The cookies are filled in no time! I'm definitely adding this recipe to my Christmas Cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kuratenko
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Good cookies and look very pretty. I suggest you read reviewers' comments in the past carefully before trying out this recipe, especially the tips about how to manage this rather crumbly dough (creaming the dough until fluffy, and if necessary, dip your fingers in milk while shaping). I had quite a hard time shaping the dough because it was quite dry, but the dryness is necessary for the light texture of this cookie. Also, make individual cookie size as small as possible and round (do not flatten it) before baking, because they loosen flat a bit while baking. I will make them again for this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The origional Austrian recipe states to roll the cookies into beaten egg whites before rolling in the nuts. I substituted almond extract for the vanilla and also used raspberry jam. The dough like others, was very dry and crumbly even after whipping the butter well. add 1 TBS milk at a time until you get the right consistancy. (I added 2 TBS of milk) and that did the trick. Dough was not sticky and easy to work with. these cookies are meant to be about "bite sized".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These cookies were the biggest hit at a house concert. They went like hot cakes! You gotta make 'em, but place cookie dough in refrigerator for 5-10 minutes before placing in oven as they will spread out and make a mess. I used parchment paper for easy cleanup, too. As others have suggested, I used the bottle cap to my vanilla to make the impressions, not my thumb. I accidentally overloaded the thumbprint area, but finally got the hang of how much jam to use. Also, I used two different jams, but the raspberry ones went first. Nothing was left and I only got one cookie!! Next time, I'm making a double batch and keeping some for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizlgw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
One of my favorite cookie recipes. I didn't have any trouble with the dough, but like another reviewer suggested, I did beat my butter and sugar until light and fluffy. I also decided to add lemon juice and the zest to the dough which gave the cookie a wonderful light lemony flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I found the dough to be very hard but that was excellent for rolling into the chopped almonds as well as for it keeping its shape when baking. I really like these cookies (as did about 20 others) and they will be a part of our christmas baking for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udo Rosenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My family has made the same recipe for years with a couple of minor changes. Beat the unused egg white slightly then use to dip the balls of dough prior to rolling in the chopped nuts. This keeps the nuts stuck to the cookie. Press a slight indentation into the top then bake half way before adding the jam and returning to the oven. This keeps the jam a brighter red color but dries the jam just enough for cookies not to stick to each other when storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Loved these, made them for christmas last year and will do so again this year. I'm a sucker for cookies with jam in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States