Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I was so excited to find this recipe. I lost my family's original recipe when we were moving. It is perfect and the cookies taste just like the recipe we used to have. The only complaint I have is, they were all gone in a few days! Thank you Carol, you saved our Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
The dough is crumbly to work with, but once it warms up in your hands it is fine. I am also crazy for jam cookies and this was my first time to bake them. They did take longer than 20 min. to bake in my oven. They look and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! These make cookies that are both very pretty and very tasty. Thank you for sharing your Mother's recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
What appeared to look like a very easy recipe, was a little more challenging than anticipated. The dough was very dry and crumbly when following the recipe...I ended up adding a couple of extra tablespoons of butter to get it to hold together. Also...I had trouble rolling the balls in the almonds and getting the nuts to stick. They're baking in the oven now...so I haven't taste-tested them...but they look adorable! I had to keep them in the oven longer than 20 mins also....more like 25 mins...but..it could be my oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These cookies are amazing! I'm going to drizzle white chocolate over my next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
One batch of these cookies and my husband was hovering in the kitchen eating them before I could get them off the cookie sheet!! A couple of tips about the dough -- let it warm up a little more and it should not be so crumbly. When you cream together the sugar, butter and egg yolk, it has to be creamy or it will be crumbly (as with any recipe). If it is still too crumbly, put a small bowl of milk out while you roll, dip your fingers in the milk and roll the balls. That will moisten it a bit. KUDOS on this recipe -- I'm off to make a few hundred more -- while my husband is at work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Loved these, made them for christmas last year and will do so again this year. I'm a sucker for cookies with jam in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
These cookies are yummy. I didn't find the dough that hard to work with, just a little crumbly. Good way to use up jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
though the end product is delicious, there's something wrong with the dough. it was too dry and difficult to handle. i suspect this is because there is not much liquid in the dough. maybe i'll try these again and add 1/2 cup milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I found the dough to be very hard but that was excellent for rolling into the chopped almonds as well as for it keeping its shape when baking. I really like these cookies (as did about 20 others) and they will be a part of our christmas baking for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udo Rosenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States