Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These cookies are absolutely delicious. However, I doubled the recipe thinking it would make 72 cookies and I ended up with 36. Perhaps I didn't make them small enough but any smaller and it wouldn't have been possible to do a thumbprint for the jam. Also, the amount of almonds it called for is way too much. I found I used a third of the amount of almonds as they dont stick to the dough as much as you might think. Finally, the amount of jam the recipe called for is too much as well. You can only put a little dabble of jam in each cookie. They are a bit of work to roll individually, but in the end they are very yummy and festive looking. I will certainly make these over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very easy cookie. I added a dash of vanilla; which came out good. Next time will try almond extract, or rum etc.. Give it plenty of space they spread. Also I only got about 18 cookies out of 1 batch. I use a small scoup and split each in half. Save your egg whites if you think your dough is too dry, and add a little. But it is a dry dough. Make sure you really add your flour slowly. This would be a fun cookie to make with kids or elders in a group setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The origional Austrian recipe states to roll the cookies into beaten egg whites before rolling in the nuts. I substituted almond extract for the vanilla and also used raspberry jam. The dough like others, was very dry and crumbly even after whipping the butter well. add 1 TBS milk at a time until you get the right consistancy. (I added 2 TBS of milk) and that did the trick. Dough was not sticky and easy to work with. these cookies are meant to be about "bite sized".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This recipe disappointed me, I found the dough to be very dry and crumbly and didn't work well into balls. It is really to bad, could have been an excellent batch of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Mine were in the oven for 40+ minutes and some were still slightly underbaked. They tasted alright, but probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a wonderful cookie. Simple to make and delicious. They disappear quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Really great recipe! I used strawberry jam, and the were perfect. My house mates and I all love them. I will definately try them out again and again. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
One of my favorite cookie recipes. I didn't have any trouble with the dough, but like another reviewer suggested, I did beat my butter and sugar until light and fluffy. I also decided to add lemon juice and the zest to the dough which gave the cookie a wonderful light lemony flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The recipe says it makes 3 dozen, but I only got 15 out of it. the cookies were decent. I like mine a little cakier so I put in the whole egg instead of just the yolk the second time I made them. The amout of butter in them was kind of disgusting to me. I think next time I'll just try a sugar cookie recipe and put the jam in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is a fantastic cookie! It was pretty easy to make. Delectable! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States