Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Ok, first of all, should the butter be cold or room temperature? I used room temperature and the cookie dough wasn't crumbly at all or even difficult to manage. BUT I did find that it didn't make anywhere near 3 dozen cookies. I ended up with 18 or so small cookies, about .5" in diameter balls. Tastes ok, but not quite what I was looking for tonight. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This is my FAVORITE Christmas cookie out of the 30 dozen I do... I always use seedless raspberry preserves! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kuratenko
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Good cookies and look very pretty. I suggest you read reviewers' comments in the past carefully before trying out this recipe, especially the tips about how to manage this rather crumbly dough (creaming the dough until fluffy, and if necessary, dip your fingers in milk while shaping). I had quite a hard time shaping the dough because it was quite dry, but the dryness is necessary for the light texture of this cookie. Also, make individual cookie size as small as possible and round (do not flatten it) before baking, because they loosen flat a bit while baking. I will make them again for this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I added nutmeg and cinamon, the cookies were delicious! The dough seemed a bit hard to manipulate though.. might change the recipe a bit next time. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by x_andy_x

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portneuf, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These are wonderful. I followed the recipe except I used strawberry jam I made last summer and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This recipe is awesome! We've been testing recipes all week to surprise my mother with her favorite. One of them ended us with one giant cookie! Our first batch was rather large. My advice would be to keep the cookie size to a minumum when inserting in the oven. Great recipe! Thank you so much! I can't wait to see her face when she tries them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I was happy to find this recipe. They taste great. I only gave it 4 stars because the dough is difficult to work. Thanks to all who gave tips on this. The milk works well. I made these with a Texas twist by using local pecans and Texas Red Plum Jam. About 15 years ago I made these and the jam caught fire in the oven. We've called them cookies flambe ever since and they are a great family tradition. Couldn't get to my recipe this year, and I like this one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
My grandmother made a cookie just like this when I was a child only she rolled them in chopped walnuts, so I did the same. After reading about other people's trouble with the dough, I was apprehensive. But, if you really cream the butter and sugar and egg until it becomes light and you add the flour mixture slowly, maybe 13 cup at a time waiting until it is integrated, the dough comes out much smoother and easier to work with. Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
The dough wasn't thick in texture at all, and I couldn't even get the dough into the shape of a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
A "bit" of milk on the fingers? I feel that I would have more luck makine pie crust out of this recipe than cookies. Granted, I have not tasted them yet, but they would have to be the best tasting cookies ever to be worth the trouble of trying to get the dough to form balls instead of crumbling away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States