Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Had to make it without the almonds because mine had gone stale, but they still turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are delicious. Loved this recipe. The cookies are so buttery. Made them for a school function for Heritage Days and am now going to bring them for Christmas Eve. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I beat the wet ingredients for a good while and added the flour slowly, as suggested by previous reviewers, so the batter wasn't hard to roll. I used plum jam both times. I just veganized the recipe the first time with Earth Balance and a flax egg, and rolled them in sesame seeds instead of nuts. BUT THE SECOND TIME I made a few extra variations. I used 1 cup of whole wheat baking flour, and 1/2 cup of cacao powder (not cocoa, search cacao). I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I rolled them in coconut flakes. I made half with plum jam and then other half is nutella whipped with coconut milk. Also, I dropped them by the tablespoon, and they held their shape, didn't spread much at all. This recipe is a winner, even withstanding my inevitable "this-is-what-I-got" substitutions. Everyone enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
One of my favorite cookie recipes. I do not like to roll them in nuts so I just use the whole egg when I make the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good recipe and very pretty when the almonds are on the outside. I did a mix of jam, chocolate, and without filling at all. The chocolate was the least favorite, but still gone by the end of the night. I did not have a problem with the dough but did moisten my hands before working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
A beautiful recipe, my family loved them. I, myself, couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APH-Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Love this recipe! I've made it several times and it's always a hit! Sometimes I add almond extract instead of vanilla extract which gives it some extra almond kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These cookies were awesome, only problems is that the dough is very crumbly and hard to work with, but worth the trouble, I am saving this as a family cookie recipe, they were the first batch to go out of all the Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A good traditional cookie. I made a batch with just egg yolk and one with the whole egg. Didn't see any difference. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract along with the vanilla. A much better flavour I thought. I had trouble getting the nuts to stick on the so I dipped the dough in egg white and milk first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
My family has made the same recipe for years with a couple of minor changes. Beat the unused egg white slightly then use to dip the balls of dough prior to rolling in the chopped nuts. This keeps the nuts stuck to the cookie. Press a slight indentation into the top then bake half way before adding the jam and returning to the oven. This keeps the jam a brighter red color but dries the jam just enough for cookies not to stick to each other when storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States