Austrian Jam Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I've made this recipe for over 2 decades and it's the most inconsistent I have. I always roll the dough into 24 balls before refrigerating, else it's identical. Some years they come out as perfect little toasty almond bird nests, other years they splay out and the jam spills. Just can't figure out what it'd take to perfect these. Tasty, but unreliable for use in cookie swap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Had to make it without the almonds because mine had gone stale, but they still turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are delicious. Loved this recipe. The cookies are so buttery. Made them for a school function for Heritage Days and am now going to bring them for Christmas Eve. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great recipe! I beat the wet ingredients for a good while and added the flour slowly, as suggested by previous reviewers, so the batter wasn't hard to roll. I used plum jam both times. I just veganized the recipe the first time with Earth Balance and a flax egg, and rolled them in sesame seeds instead of nuts. BUT THE SECOND TIME I made a few extra variations. I used 1 cup of whole wheat baking flour, and 1/2 cup of cacao powder (not cocoa, search cacao). I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I rolled them in coconut flakes. I made half with plum jam and then other half is nutella whipped with coconut milk. Also, I dropped them by the tablespoon, and they held their shape, didn't spread much at all. This recipe is a winner, even withstanding my inevitable "this-is-what-I-got" substitutions. Everyone enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
One of my favorite cookie recipes. I do not like to roll them in nuts so I just use the whole egg when I make the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good recipe and very pretty when the almonds are on the outside. I did a mix of jam, chocolate, and without filling at all. The chocolate was the least favorite, but still gone by the end of the night. I did not have a problem with the dough but did moisten my hands before working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
A beautiful recipe, my family loved them. I, myself, couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APH-Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Love this recipe! I've made it several times and it's always a hit! Sometimes I add almond extract instead of vanilla extract which gives it some extra almond kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These cookies were awesome, only problems is that the dough is very crumbly and hard to work with, but worth the trouble, I am saving this as a family cookie recipe, they were the first batch to go out of all the Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A good traditional cookie. I made a batch with just egg yolk and one with the whole egg. Didn't see any difference. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract along with the vanilla. A much better flavour I thought. I had trouble getting the nuts to stick on the so I dipped the dough in egg white and milk first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States