Austrian Chocolate Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
These cookies are wonderful! They are great with or without the chocolate frosting. They are basically chocolate amaretto cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
great recipe..the chocolate glaze adds a delicious touch..just put waxed paper or paper towel under the cookies after you dip them so they wont drip everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Ohmigosh! I was recently at a dessert party, and had something similar to these, and came looking on Allrecipes for a recipe for the cookie. Bingo! I found it. These are sooooooo good! I made the first batch as written, then made a second batch in the same bowl--didn't rinse it or anything--and made a second batch, only using mint extract in place of the almond, and vanilla in the glaze. This was because I had a real "mint tooth" going on. (Although I'm not sure if they are still Austrian ;) ) I also replaced the nuts with mini chocolate chips in the second batch. They are sooooo good, too! The glaze seems to stay prettiest if it stays warm. Mine got a bit grainy. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I've made these 2 years in a row and they're a big hit. For the icing I simply melt chocolate in a baggie and pipe it over the cookies in a decorative design. This year I put a candied cherry in the center of a ball of dough before baking ... AN EVEN BIGGER HIT!!!! Wonderful cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I have made these cookies a part of my annual lineup of Xmas cookies for a few years now. Absolutely fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
If you don't want a sweet cookie, these are for you. They have very good flavor and taste even better with the glaze! I used a mixture of chopped pecans and almonds in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
These are great! Definitely a grown-up cookie, though, as they are not too sweet and some kids might not like the almond flavoring. I love it though. I use ground or very finely chopped almonds in my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
These were really tasty! They weren't too sweet and they looked so nice after they were frosted. I had run out of milk so I subbed French Vanilla Creamer for the milk in the glaze, and only put in 1-2T to make it more of a frosting, and they came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I didn't really like these, but everyone I made them for raved about them. Easy to make, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
They looked beautiful and I quite liked them, but my friend, who normally loves everything chocolaty, ate only one declaring that they tasted like these brown bars that taste a bit like chocolate and are supposed to be good for you. Actually he might be right but I still quite liked these. I reduced the amount of almond extract, added a bit of coffee liqueur to the glaze and glazed the cookies on the bottom side, as the tops looked so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States