Aussie Works Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
When I first read the list of ingredients, I thought, "Gross!" (pineapple and eggs together!?!) but so many people raved about these burgers in the reviews that I decided to give them a chance. Well, first of all, they are completely impractical. They were literally 5 inches high--Even Mick Jagger couldn't get his mouth around that. When we pushed down the top, things would squeeze out and shoot across the table. As for the taste, it wasn't bad, but if I did it again, I'd leave off the beets, egg and pineapple which leaves you with your basic bacon cheeseburger. My husband liked them better than I did. I won't make them again unless he requests them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
These were WONDERFUL! The only thing that we might do differently, probably a personal preference, is season the meat before grilling with some salt/pepper/grill seasoning. All of the toppings are WONDERFUL and each adds their own level of enjoyment to this burger! We WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
These burgers are a great twist the old stand-by (burgers and fries). I left off the beets, the burger was still the best I ever had and my family agrees!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: New Providence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This is such a big hit here in Australia (I live in Melbourne, Victoria) that it is a regular part of the menu at all of our Hungry Jacks and McDonalds restaurants. You definitely need to add salt and pepper to the patties, even though it is not in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Will never have hamburgers the old way again! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
The only way we ever have burgers is with beetroot! However whilst this recipe has all the right fillings for a burger the actual meat patties are flavourless. I added salt & pepper, onion, garlic, dijon mustard, worchestershire sauce & breadcrumbs (to soak up any excess juices or fat whilst cooking). I left out the onion as a filling for the burger because I already added it to the meat. Suggest you play around with the meat flavourings to get something that appeals to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This recipe gets a 5 in our house. We are a household of 5 adults, that REALLY appreciate good food. This burger is top of the line. So many wonderful flavors,all mingling,so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROOFREDHEAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This is delish. I have it at our favorite resturant. Outside of the beets and pineapple, it's the same. They call theirs A DAGWOOD BURGER, and it really is. Served with a BIG plate of fries, you can't eat it all. You really ought to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Really - DON"T skip the beets! They are incredible on a hamburger. My (aussie) husband talked me into trying and Aussie Works... I can't eat a burger without a beet slice now! Great recipe - it's ok to leave off the eggs and bacon. The pineapple and the beet are the reat taste treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
The egg and pineapple may seem weird, but they're fantastic on a burger. Every time I make a burger now, I like a pineapple slice on it. It makes the burger even juicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Bronco Burger

Here’s a spicy, manly man’s burger that’s perfect for tailgating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States