Aussie Works Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Oh WOW..........this was WONDERFUL. I have some friends in Oz and went down to visit them a couple of years ago. This burger was all I heard about from them before I went to visit. This was hands down my favorite food from there. I make it here in the US as well, it's just a challange to get folks here to open their minds and eat a burger with beets on it!! I plan on adding it to my menu at the restaurant I just bought! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
These were WONDERFUL! The only thing that we might do differently, probably a personal preference, is season the meat before grilling with some salt/pepper/grill seasoning. All of the toppings are WONDERFUL and each adds their own level of enjoyment to this burger! We WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This is such a big hit here in Australia (I live in Melbourne, Victoria) that it is a regular part of the menu at all of our Hungry Jacks and McDonalds restaurants. You definitely need to add salt and pepper to the patties, even though it is not in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
The only way we ever have burgers is with beetroot! However whilst this recipe has all the right fillings for a burger the actual meat patties are flavourless. I added salt & pepper, onion, garlic, dijon mustard, worchestershire sauce & breadcrumbs (to soak up any excess juices or fat whilst cooking). I left out the onion as a filling for the burger because I already added it to the meat. Suggest you play around with the meat flavourings to get something that appeals to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This recipe gets a 5 in our house. We are a household of 5 adults, that REALLY appreciate good food. This burger is top of the line. So many wonderful flavors,all mingling,so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROOFREDHEAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My husband's comment was, "This has got to be the absolute WORST meal to eat on a first date! You can't talk while eating it, you don't want to look at anyone else while they're eating it, and you don't want anyone else to look at you!" :o) As other's have aptly noted, the sheer height of this burger is overwhelming--as is its juiciness. However, it has a cacophony of flavors that somehow come together to taste great. I wonder if you could combine many of the ingredients into a bit of an "Aussie Salsa" (pineapple, tomato, relish, beets, etc.)so the overall height was diminished. I think I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
When I first read the list of ingredients, I thought, "Gross!" (pineapple and eggs together!?!) but so many people raved about these burgers in the reviews that I decided to give them a chance. Well, first of all, they are completely impractical. They were literally 5 inches high--Even Mick Jagger couldn't get his mouth around that. When we pushed down the top, things would squeeze out and shoot across the table. As for the taste, it wasn't bad, but if I did it again, I'd leave off the beets, egg and pineapple which leaves you with your basic bacon cheeseburger. My husband liked them better than I did. I won't make them again unless he requests them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Really - DON"T skip the beets! They are incredible on a hamburger. My (aussie) husband talked me into trying and Aussie Works... I can't eat a burger without a beet slice now! Great recipe - it's ok to leave off the eggs and bacon. The pineapple and the beet are the reat taste treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Just finished eating the "works" burger...all of the interesting toppings are what makes this burger! I loved the egg and bacon and pineapple. Next time though, i will make the pattie the way i usually do with spices and stuff it was a little bland. Overall, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Flats, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
These burgers are a great twist the old stand-by (burgers and fries). I left off the beets, the burger was still the best I ever had and my family agrees!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: New Providence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Bronco Burger

Here’s a spicy, manly man’s burger that’s perfect for tailgating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States