Aussie Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This recipe made me homesick, well the base did. In Australia we use "Golden Syrup, which is a darker syrup than the Karo light. I find it gives the base more taste. You can also use the base recipe for GREAT Aussie Anzac (Australia, New Zealand Army Corps) cookies. Just place a teaspoon of the mixture on a cookie tray 1 inch apart. They get their name because they were sent to the "diggers" soldiers in WW1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Like a key lime pie with a macaroon crust. YUMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I had to write in about this one -- it's truly outstanding. Unlike some others, I find it too sweet for my tastebuds so I cut the sugar in the crust to 1/4 cup (or less). Also, I've tried it with 2 whole eggs instead of 4 yolks. I separated the eggs, beat the whites and folded them in before baking. Same taste - just a bit lighter. Finally, why not use the lime zest since you're using the limes? Nevertheless, however you tweak it, a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
When they say don't brown, they mean it! Also, don't substitute key lime juice in the same proportion, use 1/4 c instead, or else you will have a VERY TART PIE, which i did. Fortunately, I had some fresh whipped cream to help cut the tartness. The crust is definitely unique, and i am going to try the suggestion to make the cookies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
No fault of the recipe, the lime juice I made was just too bitter, as I juiced it (mistakenly) with the skin on. As a result, I used another 1/2 cup of sugar. It was still rather bitter. The crust was unique and delicious, and I know the filling would have been as well. I'll be making this again, with bottled lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Excellent!!!! I made this recipe twice in two weeks, and everyone loves it. However, one suggestion - I thought the baking soda flavor came through too strongly using the recipe, so I halved it in the second pie and that was perfect. Also I never did get the "foamy" result of whipping/stirring the baking soda with the other ingredients listed. Works well with either lemon or lime zest. I think the flavor is best with some whipped topping (Cool Whip) on top. Try it, the crust is excellent and the overall result is addicting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This wasn't bad, but not what I was expecting even after reading all the reviews. As you can see from my photo the crust puffed up huge; by the time the thing was out of the oven it was more crust than filling. While the crust was tasty I think it would be better for cookies; once refrigerated overnight it was very difficult to cut. The filling was not bad at all, maybe a little tart. I made it exactly as stated, juicing 2-3 limes and straining them into the measuring cup, and also happened to have lemon peel on hand. I added green food coloring because the yellow didn't look very appetizing. So, the flavor wasn't bad overall, it just looked funny with a huge crust with a little puddle of filling in the middle. Next time I'll use some of the crust dough to make a small pan of cookies for the kids, and the adults can have the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
First receipe I've tried from this website and started on a great note. Being Australian, we're a big fan of Anzac bikkies and lime so this went down real well at my last BBQ. Thumbs up for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is phenomenal. The crust tastes like a macaroon. Don't change anything here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I made this pie the other night for my family and it turned out to be one of the best pies I've every made! It was so rich, sweet and multi-textured - crunchy and creamy - with that wonderful toasted coconut taste. It was like a big custard filled macaroon cookie. Yumm! The only thing was the prep time was much more than the recipe stated...or maybe I'm just slow. It took me about 45 minutes (or more) prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States