Aussie Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
THE YUMMIEST! LOVED This pie! Very easy to make for a novice pie maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Not that tasty, I found the filling far too tart and the crust a little hard. Maybe less lime juice would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Soo good! Great crust with a tart filling-- reminds me of key lime pie, but better. Fantastic with cool whip, and would be impressive served at a party with dollups of whipped cream around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I am glad I chose to try this recipe. Made this and took it to work, where it was promptly devoured. The crust is a treat all by itself; add the lime/custard and this is heavenly. After seeing the crust made, I mixed up a double batch of the crust, cut it into squares and sent it to our troops in Iraq. Even though it took 3 weeks to arrive, the squares were fantastic and very well received. Louise, you have provided us with a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I made this pie the other night for my family and it turned out to be one of the best pies I've every made! It was so rich, sweet and multi-textured - crunchy and creamy - with that wonderful toasted coconut taste. It was like a big custard filled macaroon cookie. Yumm! The only thing was the prep time was much more than the recipe stated...or maybe I'm just slow. It took me about 45 minutes (or more) prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Excellent!!!! I made this recipe twice in two weeks, and everyone loves it. However, one suggestion - I thought the baking soda flavor came through too strongly using the recipe, so I halved it in the second pie and that was perfect. Also I never did get the "foamy" result of whipping/stirring the baking soda with the other ingredients listed. Works well with either lemon or lime zest. I think the flavor is best with some whipped topping (Cool Whip) on top. Try it, the crust is excellent and the overall result is addicting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
My crust boiled over and then my oven started smoking and I was so afraid this pie was going to end up in the garbage BUT.... I let it cool, then put it in the refrigerator overnight, and this morning it tastes YUMMY!! So next time I won't use all the crust dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
My entire family thinks that this is one of the best pies that we have ever eaten. The crust is worth making to use with other baked cream pies also. I used grated lime since I didn't have any lemon and it tasted great. The green flecks showed in the pale yellow pie though so the lemon peel would definitely look better. My husband is already asking me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
No fault of the recipe, the lime juice I made was just too bitter, as I juiced it (mistakenly) with the skin on. As a result, I used another 1/2 cup of sugar. It was still rather bitter. The crust was unique and delicious, and I know the filling would have been as well. I'll be making this again, with bottled lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This was my husband's contribution to dessert for Thanksgiving last year and it will definitely be a tradition in our home from now on! The crust is amazing! Flavorful and just the right combination of chewy and crisp. The filling is tart, not overly sweet like most pies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States